Fresh food

I don’t really have two recipes that I’m ready to share today, so I figured I’d just show you my yummy fresh food from the farmer’s market and a new grocery store near my work!

First up, the farmer’s market. It never disappoints!!

A bag of red potatoes to make Jenna’s potato salad, carrots, a squash that I don’t know the name of, small yellow squash, yellow zucchini and green zucchini, cherry tomatoes, two ears of corn (to grill for dinner tonight!), a bulb of garlic, a pound of ground beef for burgers tonight, and finally, a sprite. It is a sweet melon that has more of a crunchy texture than honeydew or cantaloupe. It is VERY different from the crenshaw melon I got last week but really good!

Onto the Food Co-Op. My first trip there was during lunch today with a group I’m working with for the year on a big campus-wide project (I’ll post more about it tomorrow). The Co-op just opened about a month ago and it is fabulous!! Bulk bins galore, organic local produce, brand name organic products that you’d find at Whole Foods, a small salad bar, local cheeses, to-go items from local restaurants. Do you know what the greatest thing was though? The peanut butter machine!!!! You just flip the switch and the whole peanuts get ground up into extremely fresh peanut butter :) It’s not as creamy as packaged brands; it’s almost the consistency of Reese’s PB- YUM! Plus, I paid only $2 for nearly 2 cups- perfect for my granola bars! They also had an almond butter one, but that will have to wait until next time!

The goods: two cans of tomatoes with green chiles to make my salsa, a can of garbanzo beans to make Julie’s protein ball recipe, celery for the aforementioned potato salad, colby jack and ricotta cheese for upcoming recipes, broccoli, and of course the PB!!

I feel like I don’t really need to go to Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods since I have such great food options so close! Thank goodness for the farmer’s market being open on Tuesday mornings, otherwise I would not be able to get all of that great stuff!

Do you shop at a farmer’s market? Do you have a grocery store with local foods?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

7 responses »

  1. Oh heavens! Look at all that delicious food you have! …Especially the chick peas ;) AND the food co-op sounds like my kind of place!!!

    Reply
  2. Love love love the farmer’s market in a very romantic sense. Alas, so many weekends I’m traveling so I can’t get there on Saturdays. But it’s always such a great way to start my weekend (and week of food!) when I do get to go! I also love that my farmers market always has some food trucks around, and even beer sold in growlers, so I get to cover all my bases!!

    Reply
  3. I am seriously JEALOUS of that peanut butter machine! Sounds like my dream come true! :-)

    I don’t normally shop at a farmer’s market, but I’m hoping to start for some of my produce. We only have small farmer’s markets around where I live, so I’ll have to “shop around” & find the best one!

    Reply
  4. Farmers markets are always so much fun! I love finding fresh produce. We do have a new store that opened that focuses on offering local foods + produce, but it’s a big further than I like to drive to the store. Plus the farmers market is much closer!

    Reply
  5. I try to shop at the farmers market as much as I can! nothing beats fresh produce, but cannot not always make it there.

    Michelle

    Reply
  6. I wish I shopped at a Farmer’s Market!! One in my area is JUST getting started, And It’s still in an inconvenient location, But I’m planning to check it out as soon as possible!

    Reply
  7. I love being able to take advantage of all the awesomeness of farmers markets during summer. So many delicious finds! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

