The 99 Workout and other fun stuff!

After waking up at 5:30am, letting the dog out and trying to fall back asleep, I ended up being woken up at 8:30am by my honey. I had been in a deep sleep with lots of CRAZY dreams going on!

I met Mama Pea and had a vegan meal with her. We cooked tofu I believe, and chatted about how she missed the family reunion. Turns out (in my dream), she is related to my dad’s side of the family! I blame this dream on the fact that I read her latest post at 5:30am while the dog was eating and doing his business. Funny how real life creeps into our dreams!

The other dreams I had didn’t make sense (not that the one with Mama Pea made any sense!), but my honey was in one driving a tractor that they sold a few years back. It was my favorite tractor because I got to sit on the wheel cover and take pictures like this:

Crazy as it may seem, I actually miss that tractor. I used to ride around with my honey all of the time on it. But now, they have tractors with cabs on them, meaning A/C and a radio for my honey and an uncomfortable seat for me!

Anyways, on to the rest of my day!

I am so excited about today! I get to be at home all day and get lots of stuff done :) The past two weeks have been insane at work and somehow we’ve managed to schedule things every night as well. I’m finally able to relax a little and catch up on blogs, magazines, and cooking I haven’t had time to do the past two weeks. Plus, workout for longer than 10 minutes!

First up, my workout this morning. Girl in the Pink inspired me again and I tried the 99 Workout.

I was really hesitant going into it because I haven’t done much strenuous exercise lately. Much to my surprise, the first 99 reps of everything was the hardest. The rest of it was easier than I expected.

Because I get bored of doing the same thing over and over again, I split up the 99 crunches into 3 sets of 33, taking a short rest in between sets. This helped me to push through it and helped me to not get bored. As for the leg lifts, I wasn’t sure which type of leg lift to do, so I did a whole bunch of different types to help break up the monotony. I did the leg lift and lower while lying on my back. I did side leg lifts from a side plank position, and I did some leg lift and lower with my stability ball between my calves.

The push ups were surprisingly easy for me. I was a little scared because I have never been good at them; however, I have been attempting to do more of them with my workouts. I have also been strengthening my chest and back more. It must be working because I did regular push ups for each set for a total of 46 push ups!

The whole routine (without the run) took me a little over an hour. If I hadn’t wasted so much time trying to figure out which type of leg lifts to do, it probably would have taken me a little under an hour. After I finished the 8 sets of exercises, I headed out for a 1 mile jog. It felt fantastic! The sun is shining and it isn’t too hot yet, plus there is a nice breeze! I’m not sure how long it took because I didn’t really care; I was just so proud of myself for finishing the routine :) Now I need to do some major hip flexor stretching!!

I highly recommend this workout for anyone who wants to change it up a bit. I ate a big breakfast of oatmeal with almonds and peaches, and a scrambled egg on the side around 9am and didn’t start the workout until almost 11am. You’ll definitely need some substantial energy to get through this workout!

Post-workout snack is a seasonal green smoothie.

3/4 cup raw milk yogurt

1 ripe medium banana

2 medium peaches

2 cups of spinach

handful of ice cubes

Pour the yogurt into a blender, followed by the banana. Halve the peaches and remove the pit, place in the blender. Add the spinach and blend until it all turns green. Slowly add the ice cubes and blend for another 30 seconds. Pour into a big glass for now, and the rest into a small glass for later :)

I plan to spend a significant amount of time dirtying up my kitchen today! On the menu is:

  • Protein Balls- which I promise to share my updated recipe on Tuesday!
  • Chicken Salad- for my honey’s lunch this week
  • Vegetable, potato and bean soup- for my lunches this week. I’m planning on making up this recipe, so please feel free to share any ideas!
  • Quinoa salad with chicken and veggies- also for lunches this week
  • Leanne’s 100 Calorie Beary Simple Cookies

And finally, because we are so tired of eating out (and because I finally have plenty of time to cook!), I’m making Pioneer Woman’s Peach-Whiskey Barbecue Chicken tonight for dinner. I just need to find me some whiskey!

Tell me about a crazy dream you’ve had!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

11 responses »

  1. Wow, I would have woken up so confused! …I remember about 6 dreams a year. I just never remember them for some strange reason!
    Way to get your workout on!!! This workout intemidates me like no other. eeek! I always do the split the smoothie thing, I love having some a little later to eat! I have also revamped the cookie dough protein balls, LOVE THEM now! They really taste just like cookie dough!

    Reply
  2. I have downright strange dreams all the time! I blame it on drinking coffee near bedtime! ;)

    Reply
  3. Wow – I’m going to have to try that workout this week!! How long did it take you, start to finish?

    Reply
  4. I like the sound of that workout! I love plans that keep me distracted, and this sounds like fun :)

    Reply
  5. oh man that work out sounds rough!!

    and that smoothie looks perfect

    Reply
  6. Dreams are awesome. There was a time in my life where I would wake up and record (with a little hand-held recorder) all of my dreams. I got so good at remembering that I started learning how to lucid dream. It takes SO much time, but so awesome. I stopped doing it awhile ago so now all of my dreams are random again. Last one I dreamed I was at a wedding that was ambushed by zombies. haha
    Sounds like you had a great day in the kitchen… and that workout. holy hardcore!

    Reply
  7. Yay, glad you tried the workout!!

    I’m heading to the kitchen to make a peach green monster – yours sounded so good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

