Apple Butter Festival 2011

The weather was gorgeous yesterday, but not quite gorgeous enough. We unfortunately had some crazy winds and had to move the Apple Butter Festival indoors. However, it didn’t dampen our spirits one bit! We still enjoyed the day and ate lots of great food!

The event is held down the road at Glenmont Farm and has been for quite a few years. They asked us when my honey and I were going to take it over and have it at our place….hopefully not any time soon!! His aunt and uncle have so much more space!

Fun fact: the wagon in the picture was used at our wedding reception as the place to put gifts and cards. It has now been used in three weddings in the family!

Here’s one of the vats used to make the apple butter. I’m pretty sure my honey’s other uncle rigged up the whole contraption years ago. They cook the apple butter for hours and hours. It runs from the early morning until most people get ready to leave.

It is seasoned with lots of cinnamon oil…

And tested along the way. Here’s the man who makes it happen! Yes, that is a beater on the end of a drill! He takes out small batches and mixes in the seasonings and then adds it back in.

Here he is cleaning off the paddle that mixes it all together. After this, they take a power washer to it to get it really clean.

While that’s all happening, the girls prepare the jars and lids to put the apple butter in.

Finally, they pour batches of it into the metal bowl and slowly fill each jar. There is a valve thingamajig that lets it out so you can stop it when you need to.

I just realized that we didn’t stick around to see the jars get completely filled. And we left without a jar! To be completely honest, I’m not a huge fan of it. It is pretty spicy with all the cinnamon, plus they use buckets of white sugar…but my honey loves it! I guess I need to go out and get some bread for him to put it on!

So while the apple butter is being made, usually everyone is outside enjoying the beautiful weather.

But like I said, we moved it indoors. My honey’s uncle who owns this farm has a daughter who shows horses, so they have a large show ring barn that we use as the alternate location when the weather isn’t cooperating.

Not as pretty, but it gets the job done! I snapped pictures before all of the food arrived. Trust me, the tables were FULL!! They even do a competition and judge the best side dish and the best dessert. Unfortunately, my Pecan Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies that I brought didn’t win.

The guy who made chicken for my family reunion back in July did the chicken yesterday. It is seriously out of this world! I don’t know what spices and seasonings he uses, but we all want him to bottle it and sell it!

There were two different bluegrass bands that played throughout lunch. They were a lot of fun and did a great job! I absolutely LOVE bluegrass music!

There were also horses!

There was a group there from the Cowboy Mounted Shooting Association and they did a demonstration. Basically, the rider has a gun with blanks in it and tries to hit all of the balloons while on horseback. It’s pretty awesome to watch because they get going so fast.

There was a donkey.

There was also a greased pig contest, but I will spare you the photos from it.

We took a hay wagon ride and my honey was the driver!

The views from the wagon ride are my favorite! My honey makes hay on these fields so I have ridden around on the tractor with him a bunch. I just loved sitting in the sunshine taking pictures :)

It was such a beautiful day and it really is the beginning of fall to me. I absolutely love it every year!

Do you like apple butter?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

10 responses »

  1. aahhhh that looks like so much fun!!!!

    Reply
  2. Great pictures! I’ve only ever tried Trader Joe’s apple butter, but yes, I did like it!

    Reply
  3. What a day! I’d say that it is the official beginning of fall for you! ….Too bad they had to move it indoors. It still looks like a bushel of fun though- the yummy chicken, the music, and the company!
    FUN! —Heck to the yes I love apple butter! Mmmmmm!

    Reply
  4. I love:
    The uncle in the hokie gear!!!
    The beater on the end of the spatula.
    The bluegrass, i love it too!!! I turned my hubs onto it… he’s still learning to love it.
    The horse demo; I would never have thought of that but it looks like it’d be cool to watch.

    Looks awesome!

    Reply
  5. What beautiful pictures! Everything looks so pretty, that is a very nice farm. I have never had apple butter before, I wonder if I would like it? Wait, yes, Im sure I would like it.
    Looks like you all had a very nice fall day. :-)

    Reply
  6. Hi there! I just found your blog and love it! :)

    Apple butter is one of my favorite things about fall! So cool to see it actually being made! And I love all of your pictures. They are all so beautiful!

    Reply
  7. I’m totally dragging all the family to this next year!! Can we stay with you?? ;)

    Reply
  8. I’ve never really been a fan of apple butter (oddly enough). I love all your fall picks though! Isn’t this time of year great!?

    Reply
  9. How fun! Love apples, but never had apple butter, can you believe it? haha

    Reply
  10. Looks like you had a great time! I LOVE apple butter…I made some a few weeks ago and it was incredible! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

