Conference Vacation

I’m up at Wintergreen resort for a conference for work. I sort of consider it a vacation…I don’t have to make dinner, I don’t have to do dishes, I don’t have to pick up after myself (or my honey!) and I don’t have to worry about my puppy! (as much as I’ll miss him, it’s nice to have one less responsibility)

I got up here earlier today because my coworker is on a committee that had a meeting this afternoon. I’ve been working from the condo doing evaluations of my grad students and responding to e-mails. I surprisingly got a lot accomplished! I did some work stuff and then did a workout. I was planning to do the Tuesday Trainer resistance band workout, but my shoulders were bothering me, so I did a great glutes workout instead. We’ll see if my shoulder is feeling better tomorrow.

Not only will I be doing professional development while up here, but I’ll also be working on my own things during the evenings.

For instance, I have so many blogs to catch up on! There are tons of great posts written that I really want to go back and read and comment on, but it has been tough to find the time every evening to read other people’s blogs plus post on my own blog.

Also, I have just a few magazines to catch up on…like I brought 6 of them with me and still left some at home…I have a problem :/ We’ll see if I find some time to get to them.

_____________________________________

I just got back from a pretty decadent meal at the resort’s restaurant. We get a stipend to spend on meals for the conference, so I treated myself tonight: Baked brie with apple-pecan-raisin chutney, pear and endive salad with walnuts and feta with raspberry vinaigrette, and then an awesome dessert…you’ll never guess what it was! I was worried there wouldn’t be any gluten-free options for dessert, so I told my coworker that maybe if they had creme crulee or cheesecake I would get some.

Check out the first item on the menu!! (If you can read it…)

Creme Brulee Cheesecake!!!! I have never heard of such a thing before and lo and behold, I got my GF dessert :)

And it was absolutely delicious :D

Off to catch up on blogs, hulu shows, and some good reading!

What’s the best dessert you’ve ever had?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

5 responses »

  1. Enjoy your time away! ….Not picking up and doing dishes for a few days will be nice- ENJOY!

    Reply
  2. Yum! Creme brulee cheesecake sounds awesome! I love both desserts too! :-)

    Reply
  3. That’s actually one reason I like business trips – you have more evening time to yourself to catch up. :) Enjoy your time away!

    Reply
  4. I don’t think I could pick a favorite dessert.

    Have fun on your “vacation”!

    Reply
  5. Oh fun! Love work vacations. :) Hard to choose one dessert. Probably anything with chocolate. And I can’t ever get enough of Sprinkles Cupcakes. :) Have a great weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

