Christmas Recap and another rainbow

I was really hoping to be able to post every day while I was off work…unfortunately, I’ve been so busy and haven’t had the time I thought I would! So here’s a quick recap of the past few days.

Christmas Eve

We had a big family dinner up at my in-laws on Christmas Eve. My parents came, my honey’s aunt and both grandmas, plus my in-laws. I got to make the turkey, which turned out excellent!

Dinner was great, as usual, but I ended up with a lot of leftovers, plus I left some of the turkey at my in-laws! So last night when we had some friends over, I made turkey and rice soup, similar to my Chicken and Rice soup. It turned out fantastic!

Christmas Day

We got up early on Christmas morning to go up to my in-laws for brunch. My honey didn’t exchange gifts, so we just got up and went. We opened presents up there for an hour or so and I got some pretty fun stuff!

I finally got a pair of rain boots!!! The path I take from my car to my office often floods when it rains, so I’m definitely going to get a lot of use out of them!

I also got a splitting maul of my own! Remember when I told you about cutting wood? Well, since I split slower than the guys do, I joked and said I should have my own splitting maul, so my father-in-law bought me one! My honey hasn’t put it together yet (the blade comes separately from the handle) but when he does, I will be sure to show you!

I also got a few gift cards/certificates: Victoria’s Secret, Dick’s Sporting Goods, and even a free adjustment and massage at my Chiropractor!

My mother-in-law and her mother also gave me some money, which I just used to purchase something I’ve had my eye on for quite some time!

I’ve been borrowing a food processor from a friend since July and I feel like I should really get my own and give hers back! I’m so excited about this thing and can’t wait to share a review of it once I get it.

One last thing I got was a Radford t-shirt I picked out when we down there for my brother-in-law’s graduation. It’s super cute and will be a great PJ and workout shirt!

After we opened presents, more of the family came up for brunch. Pancakes, fried eggs, sausage gravy and biscuits, fried oysters and oyster stew were on the menu! I actually had my father-in-law make me scrambled eggs and I brought my own muffins because they didn’t make GF pancakes, and I’m not a big fan of oysters!

While everyone was eating, my honey and his brother were scheming…their youngest cousin was getting a car for Christmas (she gets her license tomorrow!!!) and we all knew the car was parked down at my grandma-in-law’s. The boys decided they were going to mess with it somehow, so they went down and turned it sideways in the garage and piled everything they could find around it! Once we got down there, the whole family pitched in to blow up balloons and decorate the car with bows and everything. It was hilarious! The boys even set up chairs in the front so we could all be sitting there when we opened the garage door to surprise her. It worked!

Day after Christmas

My mom and I went shopping on the 26th after the engagement photo shoot I did. It was a ZOO!! I couldn’t believe how many people were out shopping, and it actually caused me a little anxiety!

Luckily the hassle of dealing with all of the people was worth it because I picked up a pair of LOFT jeans for only $15!! I got a few other things there, but honestly, I didn’t want to spend the time looking for the deals because there were just far too many people. The trip up there made me so glad I live in a small town and don’t have to deal with that many people at once on a regular basis :)

After hitting up the outlet mall in Leesburg, my mom and I went to Dulles Town Center to get my rings cleaned. Dick’s Sporting Goods is right there and my mother-in-law got me a gift card to pick up a medicine ball I wanted. I’m really excited about my new workout tool and did a great routine with it yesterday. I’m hoping Lindsay does another Tuesday Trainer with our favorite equipment because I have some new moves now!

Because traffic was so awful, I didn’t have much time after we left Dulles. I originally wanted to go to Reston because that is the nearest place that has both a Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. However, it just wasn’t feasible to make it there, so I settled for just Trader Joe’s in Centerville since it was technically on our way home. I picked up lots of goodies there, including three boxes of their Vanilla Almond “Just Clusters” cereal :) I also bought some shampoo for less than $3…I’ll let you know how it is!

Yesterday

It rained pretty much all day, but it started clearing up when I was coming home from getting my hair cut (think “the Rachel” from Friends…oops! It’s a little shorter than I planned on, but I don’t hate it!).  I was sitting in my kitchen and the boys were outside working on stuff. A gorgeous rainbow appeared right in my back yard, but I couldn’t see it. My father-in-law came running over to the kitchen window and was waving his arms all around trying to get my attention. I quickly ran outside with my camera to capture it.

No joke, one end of the rainbow was in the yard! I could clearly see it, but there definitely was no pot of gold!

It was absolutely breath-taking!!! Because it was windy, the clouds were moving away from us and taking the rainbow with. It was crazy to watch it just disappear, but I’m so glad we got to see it.

Today

I’ve finally got a day where I can just be at home and get things done! I need to do some laundry, clean up the kitchen and try to clean out the attic and the basement because I know I won’t take the time to do it after I go back to work. Plus, I have tons of photos to edit!

Here’s to a productive day!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

7 responses »

  1. Rainbows are my favorite! :) That is my favorite part of the post, I’ll need a minute to enjoy its beauty….. Okay I’m back- what a wonderful Christmas! Your rain boots are the cutest!!! And that car fun! WOW! She must have been shocked! What fun!

    Reply
  2. You will LOVE that food processor. I got it as a wedding gift (put it on my registry just to see if I would get it) and everytime I use it, I’m even more amazed. Super quiet and super fast! Enjoy!!!

    Reply
  3. I’m glad you had a good christmas! And I feel you on the shopping thing, I can’t stand it when there are too many people around!

    Reply
  4. Looks like you’re having an enjoyable break! Love the car surprise… such a lucky girl!

    Reply
  5. love the car surprise! looks like you all had a great Christmas :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

