One Month Off

It’s officially been one month since I last posted. And wow, a lot has happened in that month! I have tons to fill you in on, so this post is going to be random, but you’ll get a great recipe at the end :)

First of all, going back a month to my birthday (or really, a few days after my birthday since my honey had to work that night). I found an incredible yellow cake with chocolate buttercream frosting recipe made with coconut flour. I halved the recipe, which was just enough for us to eat for a few days. It was actually super close in taste to a traditional yellow cake, so I was very happy with it!

I made my honey take a few pictures and sing me Happy Birthday :)

Then Titan wanted in on the cake!

Speaking of Titan, he has finally healed from his wound.

It has been an incredibly long month with him because he just hated being hurt and being limited movement wise. He destroyed 5 different types of cones/collars meant to keep him from licking his stitches. After he ruined the first one, he proceeded to pull out some of his stitches and open the wound back up. That meant we had to take another trip back to the vet to get new stitches and more medicine for him…and a new cone!

Here he is right after the initial stitches. He was so drugged up!

This is the first round of stitches. Sorry if it grosses you out! The noodle-looking thing is called a drain. It helps fluid drain out of the area.

And here is the “cone” that lasted the longest! Isn’t it cute? :)

Because he couldn’t run, he wasn’t able to wear himself out during the day. Therefore, he wanted to get up in the middle of the night. This of course threw off his entire schedule and ours. I can’t tell you how many times I was up in the middle of the night out in the freezing cold (and rain and snow sometimes!) with him just walking around because he wasn’t tired!

He’s finally back to his old self and is now free to run around. We ended up getting an invisible fence and that has been super helpful, especially considering he took off after another dog a few weeks ago and I had to chase him through the wooded hill behind our house. I’d say I probably ran a mile and a half trying to figure out where he went! It was less than amusing.

Moving on from the pup, I’ve made lots of changes to my life in the past month.

1. I’ve decided to go shampoo-free! It’s been awesome, but a little gross at times. I started out by just washing my hair every other day, trying to train my hair to not need washing every single day. I had a few really bad hair days, but now it is calming down a bit.

I decided to stop using shampoo for a few reasons. I am going to save a TON of money by not buying shampoo anymore (yes, I was buying semi-expensive Aveeno!), and I’m not going to be exposing myself to harmful chemicals anymore! I simply mix one tablespoon of baking soda with 8 oz of water (shake before each use). I used two old 10 oz jelly jars to store my new shampoo and conditioner in and just put them in the shower where my old stuff used to be. I pour a small amount on my hand and rub it into my hair and I also will pour a little right onto my hair. It definitely doesn’t suds up, and that took some getting used to, but I can definitely feel it in my hair, so I just use my fingers to “wash” my hair the same as I did with shampoo. I rinse it out and will sometimes follow up with a water/apple cider vinegar mixture as well.

To be honest, my hair  is much more manageable and much fuller. My hair has always just sort of laid there and not ever held a style (hence the reason for me keeping it so long!). But now, I can see and feel that it has body to it.

It’s really not hard to do and it is beneficial for many reasons, so I highly recommend trying it. I’ll try to keep you posted about my progress!

2. I’ve changed my eating habits…my honey’s aunt (the holistic nutritionist who has helped me become so much healthier! And gives me free eggs :)) has me on an anti-candida diet.

Now, there are many different versions of this type of diet, and lots of different opinions on what you can and can’t eat. The main focus for me is to eliminate all grains and all sugars (including most fruits and my beloved honey and maple syrup!!!). Mainly I am eating meat and veggies with some nuts and eggs thrown in. A few other things I had to cut out were potatoes and corn (starches), and milk (oh the horror!!!!!).

But don’t worry, I’ve gotten very creative and have come up with lots of great recipes I can have. One I’ll share today and another I’ll share later this week.

I’m on day 11 of the “diet” and I’m feeling great/stellar/stupendous/energetic/fantastic/amazing!! (seriously!) I still have another 18 days to go and I sorely miss my glass of raw milk every day, as well as eating all the fresh fruit I can get my hands on. However, I know that I’m healing my insides (and the rest of my body) by doing this diet/cleanse.

It is actually very similar to the Paleo diet, so in looking up recipes, I found two incredible websites that I want to pass along. The first is called Mark’s Daily Apple. He is the creator of the Primal Blueprint and has incredible information on his blog about healthy eating, the Paleo way. I highly recommend signing up for his newsletter and getting his free ebooks!

The second website I found is PaleOMG, which is a blog by a hilarious girl named Juli. She eats 99% Paleo and is a CrossFit coach. Her recipes are so out of this world that you won’t even notice there aren’t any grains!

If you’re interested in finding out more about candida and the diet, check out Whole Approach. They have a questionnaire you can take, as well as tons of information and recipes (in the forum).

3. I’ve gone back to yoga. I can’t remember the last time I picked up a weight to be honest! For some reason, my body is just tired of doing that, so I’m listening. I still feel incredibly strong, and in some ways stronger than before. Let me tell you, don’t underestimate the power of holding chaturanga to build up your triceps, chest and core!

I found some incredible YouTube channels with some excellent workouts and have been focusing on them. The Power Yoga with Bryan Jones videos are my favorite. Then, for short workouts, I turn to Flexible Warrior Yoga, especially the core one. I also love Tara Stiles, so I typically just search her name and do one of her workouts.

Things are going to be changing very soon though! I start with a new student personal trainer on Monday :) I’m hoping to try out some new stuff with her, especially some CrossFit type workouts, but we’ll see what she has in store for me. I can guarantee it won’t be yoga though!

And finally…

4. I’ve enjoyed more time with the people in my life. Blogging is very time-consuming (especially when you work full-time!). Not only does it take time to put together a post, especially a well-written one with pictures, but reading others’ blogs and commenting on them also takes up a huge amount of time. The best way to get more readers to your blog is to read and comment on others’, so that’s what we bloggers do. I was spending a lot of my “free” time reading about other people’s lives instead of being present in my life.

Part of me absolutely LOVED it! I got to participate in discussions about topics that interest me and I gained a lot of knowledge from other bloggers (not to mention the copious amounts of recipes!! :)). The other part of me though felt like I wasn’t putting enough effort into my own life. Instead of making plans to meet someone for lunch at work, I would be reading other blogs or writing a post of my own. Instead of putting a lot of effort into making my direct-selling business successful, I was taking pictures of recipes I was creating, then editing them, then posting them. And most importantly, instead of spending time on the couch with my honey and my pup, I was commenting on as many blogs as I could just so they’d read my blog and do the same.

I just decided that I’d had enough. As much as I enjoyed sharing recipes and sharing my life, the time I was putting into it wasn’t worth neglecting the rest of my life.

The past four weeks of not blogging and not reading others’ blogs have been great! I found that I’ve been less stressed (except with Titan’s injury!) and I felt more present in my every day life. I’ve been able to reconnect with friends on campus since I have had a lunch date every week for the past month and have a few others scheduled in the next few weeks.

I have also enjoyed a lot more QT with my honey and pup (when they’re awake, that is! :))

I’ve decided to just blog about big events or when I have awesome recipes to share, and to not worry about staying up to date with other blogs right now.

This week will be a little different however. I do plan to post a few times, mostly recipes, but also a piece of exciting news!

The reason for posting today and this week? My honey is with some friends skiing in Colorado!!!!

I was just sent this picture:

Say a little prayer that he doesn’t get hurt (they’re skiing lots of black diamonds!) AND that he doesn’t get a tattoo…all the guys were teasing us women that they were going to, so we’ll see!

Now for the awesome recipe! Paleo and candida friendly :)

Green Crustless Quiche

A yummy change to my standard scrambled egg breakfast! Leftovers are great to heat up the next day, which makes for a super quick healthy breakfast to start your day. 

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup raw cream (yes, I can have cream, but not milk. The milk contains sugar, but the cream off the top does not!)
  • 1 small head broccoli, lightly steamed and chopped
  • handful of spinach, chopped
  • 1 inch piece of zucchini diced
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese
1. Crack the eggs into a bowl and add the cream. Whisk together until they are completely mixed.
2. Add in the veggies (substitute whatever ones you have one hand) and stir to incorporate.
3. Season to desired taste and add the Parmesan cheese, then stir once more.
4. Pour into a greased baking dish (round, square, rectangle…it doesn’t matter!). I have found that coconut oil works best for greasing my baking stones.
5. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes until it has puffed up and no longer jiggles when you shake the pan.
About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

3 responses »

  1. I’m happy that you and your family are doing so well! :) …..The way you describe how you’re feeling on your new diet is making it sound pretty tempting! I’ve really got to eat more meat.
    I wish I had some broccoli to make this quiche! Looks delicious!!!

    Reply
  2. So glad to hear you’re doing well. Hope you had a great birthday! And glad your dog is healing. He’s getting so big! That quiche looks amazing!! I love quiche, look yummy! Love all the greens!!

    Reply
  3. Can’t wait to try your recipe. And thanks for sharing pics of Titan. Glad he’s healing and up to running again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

