Hungry Farmer Egg Muffins

While I’m off playing in Mexico, I thought you might be interested in seeing some new recipes I’ve created. Enjoy!

As you might know, I’m a farmer’s wife. That can mean a lot of different things to people, but the main thing it means to me is that I have a very hungry man to feed every day. Not only do I need to feed him, but I need to feed him well. He needs to get filled up in the morning so that he has enough energy to work until lunch. That means a bowl of cereal for breakfast isn’t going to cut it (especially since he could easily consume 5,000-6,000 calories a day and still never gain a pound!).

Since I’ve been eating more Swiss Paleo-ish, I’ve come across quite a few recipes for different versions of egg muffins that have tons of protein and fat, which is exactly what my honey needs to fuel his hard work. I decided to whip something up with the ingredients I had on hand and this is what I came up with.

I made these muffins a few weeks ago for the first time. Since then, I’ve made it another two times, changing the recipe a little each time. I don’t really like to measure things, so this is all sort of an estimation. It’s also a super adaptable recipe, so just throw in whatever you have!

Hungry Farmer Egg Muffins (Makes 12 muffins)

This nutrient- and calorie-dense breakfast is sure to fill you up and fuel whatever you have to tackle for the day.

  • 1/2 to 1 lb breakfast sausage, cooked
  • 8-10 eggs
  • 1/2-3/4 cup cream or milk
  • chopped spinach
  • salt and pepper
  • cheese
  • potatoes- optional
  • coconut oil

1. Grease your muffin pan if necessary.

2. If using the potatoes, grate them into thin strings and saute in coconut oil or butter. Season with salt and pepper and place in the muffin cups, filling only about 1/4 of the cup. Bake for about 5 minutes at 350. Feel free to grate a little cheese over top of them.

3. Whisk the eggs with the cream or milk. Add the chopped spinach and seasonings. Add grated cheese if desired (it can add different flavors depending on what type you use, which is nice to change it up a bit).

4. Once your egg mixture is all whisked together, add the cooled sausage and mix again.

5. Pour egg mixture into cups and bake at 350 until they puff up and are no longer jiggly.

6. Let cool, then transfer to a sealed container and store in the refrigerator.

7. To heat up, I recommend cutting each muffin into four pieces and then microwaving for 45-60 seconds.

Another variation: leave out the potatoes and use the cooked sausage with cheese on top as the “crust.” Then pour the egg mixture over top and bake.

What’s your favorite filling breakfast?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

One response »

  1. Yay you posted the recipe!! Now I just need to get my hands on some raw milk… meh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

