Triple Nut Crunch Granola Bars

As someone who loves granola bars but tries to eat natural and healthy foods, the options out there are not that great. Even the organic granola bars are loaded with all types of sugar. Also, since I became gluten-free, many of the granola bars out there have barley malt in them and are not an option. Thus, I came up with my own granola and granola bar recipe which I believe I am now addicted to! No seriously. I’ve eaten at least one bar every day since I first made these two weeks ago. Some days I eat two or even three!!! I think you’ll understand though once you try them đŸ™‚

I looked around online for good recipes for both the granola itself and the granola bars, and I finally adapted a few of them to make my own. I’ll admit that for my first batch of bars, I used Bear Naked granola. Alas, it has barley malt in it and I could tell it affected me. PLUS, I figured that by now, I should know how to make my own granola. It’s such a cinch (say that five times fast!) and I’m so happy with my results.

First, start with the homemade granola (if you’re so inclined).

Homemade Granola- makes about 4 cups

  • 2 cups oats
  • 1 1/2 cups crispy rice cereal- I used Erewhon’s
  • 1/2 cup raw almonds
  • dash of cinnamon (or not, totally up to you!)
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seed

1. Mix all ingredients in a bowl.

2. Spread mixture onto baking sheet.

3. Bake at 250 for 15 minutes, then toss granola, rotate pan and bake again for 15 minutes.

4. Repeat process two more times then allow to cool.

Homemade Triple Nut Crunch Granola Bars

  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2 cups natural peanut butter (the kind you stir)
  • 1/2 cups chocolate chunks (optional)
  • 2 cups homemade granola
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup

1. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix very well.

2. Press mixture into a 9×13 pan.

3. Refrigerate at least 2 hours before serving so it has a chance to harden together.

I recommend keeping them in the fridge, either in the pan or cut up into individual bars in plastic baggies.

I also recommend eating three at a time…okay, not really! But I bet you’ll want to!

Last week, I ate a bar for breakfast/pre-run snack and I have honestly never run faster! I’m not saying these bars were the only reason, but I definitely believe they had something to do with it. They are also a great afternoon snack to tide me over until I get home because of all the protein and healthy fats. Go make these as soon as you can and I know you won’t regret it!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

2 responses »

  1. Those bars look insanely delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

