Two recipe Tuesday

It is Tuesday, right? My summers are much slower than during the school year, so I tend to forget what day it is!

So I decided it should be Two recipe Tuesday here, which means I have two different recipes for you today! The first is a typical breakfast for me and the second is a new creation that came out of necessity, rather than creativity.

Raw green yumminess!

Okay, so I typically go back and forth between oatmeal and smoothies for breakfast during the week, depending on the time I have and if I’ve worked out in the morning. I have always made pretty boring smoothies with very typical ingredients; however, I have found a few new super healthy ingredients to add to them. I tend to just wing it with most ingredients, so I’m sorry for not very specific measurements!

  • raw milk yogurt
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 raw egg
  • 1 banana
  • handful of frozen strawberries
  • splash of vanilla
  • raw milk
  • 2 tbsp  ground flax seed

1. Add the ingredients to a blender in the following order: yogurt, spinach, egg (if using. Yes, I said a raw egg! It’s very good for you, but please make sure it came from a good home. This was from my aunt-in-law’s chickens and I hand picked the eggs last weekend).

2. Add a splash of vanilla. Blend for at least a minute and thin out with milk to desired consistency.

3. Add ground flax seed after everything is blended together and let blend for another minute or so. Enjoy in your favorite glass!

Or as in my honey’s case, take a swig, shake your head violently and proclaim “it’s too sour!” He’s such a sissy sometimes! He reminded me though that you could sweeten it up a bit if you’d like by adding a little maple syrup, honey, or agave nectar. I felt like a mom when I said “take two more sips and I’ll be happy!” He made me happy 🙂 He also commented that he never thought a time would come when I would like something and he wouldn’t. Head on over here to see what I was eating before I met him.

Cream of roasted veggies soup

We had friends over on Saturday night and I had lots of veggies in the fridge. I figured I’d roast some perfectly to “tender with a little crisp” for a nice healthy addition to our meal. What I ended up doing was roasting veggies to practically mush!! I accidentally set the oven at 425 and left them in there for 20 minutes…don’t be like me!! They were okay enough to eat on Saturday, but I knew the leftovers would not live through the night in the fridge and be okay on Sunday.

Therefore, I knew the only thing to do: make soup…in early June when it has been over 80 degrees out lately! It turned out fabulous and I highly recommend adding other veggies you like to the mix. I ate it plain and loved it, but I know it would be good with crackers or a hunk of bread (none for me though 😦 ). I had leftover pasta, so I actually used it as a sauce on it today for my lunch, which was also fabulous!

  • 1 butternut squash
  • 2 medium heads of broccoli
  • 3 large carrots
  • 1 large zucchini
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • chicken stock
  • cream
  • 2 tbsp butter

1. Cut up veggies to your liking.

2. Transfer to a bowl and drizzle with a good amount of olive oil. Season with salt and pepper to taste and mix well.

3. Pour onto a pan and roast at 375 for 25 minutes, stirring once halfway through.

4. Let the veggies cool a little, then transfer to a blender or a food processor.

5. Add some chicken broth and puree until smooth, adding more chicken stock if need be.

6. Transfer to a saucepan on the stove and turn on the burner to medium-high.

7. Add cream and butter. Let warm through and taste, adding more salt and pepper or cream if need be.

Serve in a pretty bowl and enjoy!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

Leave a Reply

