Saturday

Today has been great so far! I got up and ate a granola bar for my pre-run snack and blueberry cobbler with eggs for breakfast after my workout. The day was off to a very yummy start 🙂

I set out to run 3 miles this morning, but since I ran 3 yesterday at a really fast pace after not running for 5 or 6 days, I figured I shouldn’t push it too hard today. So instead, I did a mile sprint. I ran as fast as I could and ended up doing it in 7 minutes 45 seconds. An excellent time for me!! I was stoked!

After breakfast, I headed across the mountain (yes, that’s what I have to do to get to “civilization” around here) to the Farmer’s Market. I was a little disappointed that there weren’t more vendors, but I ended up with some local honey, a steak for my honey and some ground beef for me. Then I picked up some more blueberries at a local shop that carries organic produce from local farms. I’ll probably be making more of that cobbler in the coming days!

Once I got home, I knew I wanted to spend my day in the kitchen. Not much excites me more than having a stocked kitchen and a few good recipes to make. I made more granola bars, because let’s face it, I’m horribly addicted to them!

I also made this super easy black bean, corn and tomato salsa/dip. I call it a salsa/dip because it’s not as liquidy as salsa, but it isn’t really a dip. Any ideas on what to call it?

Black bean, corn and tomato salsa/dip

  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 cup corn
  • 1 pint grape or cherry tomatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • dash of salt
  • dash of pepper
  • dash of oregano
  • dash of basil
  • 1 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
  • parsley (or you could use cilantro, but we aren’t big fans of it)

Begin by draining and rinsing the black beans. This will get rid of a lot of the added sodium. Pour the beans into a bowl, followed by the corn.

Then, rinse the tomatoes.

Next, dice the tomatoes. I usually cut each one in half and then each half in half again. Still with me? Some of the bigger halves will need to be halved again, but just dice them up to your preferred size. Add them to the bowl once you’re finished.

Next, it’s time to make the dressing that goes with it. Pour your olive oil and red wine vinegar into a food processor. Add your garlic cloves, spices to taste and Parmesan cheese. Process until the garlic is diced nicely and the rest of it is smooth.

Next, take your dressing and pour it over your tomatoes, corn and black beans. Sprinkle some parsley over top and mix thoroughly so everything is covered by the dressing.

Maybe I used a little too much garlic....we'll see how it tastes!

Serve with your favorite chips! This is a fun and simple recipe to take to summer barbecues!

Now, I’m off to a tractor pull. Oh, you’re not familiar with what that is? Don’t worry! I’ll give you a fun recap in the coming days. And to tide you over until then, this is my honey’s tractor…not quite ready to go yet in the picture, but it is back together and headed across the mountain as we speak (or as I type and you read?). I hope you enjoy your Saturday!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Better Thymes « eathealthybehappylivewell

Leave a Reply

