Staying healthy

At church last Sunday, we heard about a few people who were having health issues. Someone was recently diagnosed with cancer which had gone undetected for almost 6 years! She is not even 60 yet! Someone else was having chest and arm pains right there in church and went to the hospital. I was sort of taken aback by the news; since we knew these people well, it actually made it real. Too often we hear of a friend of a friend who got sick with these things, so we never think it can happen in our community.

While I have no idea what caused these people’s ailments, it reminded me of why I eat healthy (and I nudged my honey and reminded him as well!). Call me crazy if you must, but I would like to live to be 100. Not just be breathing at 100, but up and moving and not bedridden at 100! Wouldn’t that be something? That would mean 75 years of marriage to my honey and probably seeing great-great grandchildren one day! Who wouldn’t want that?!

I found this quote sometime last summer and posted it on my fridge as a constant reminder of why I need to eat healthy. I looked it up online to try to see where I originally found it. It seems it came from David Wolfe’s mom. David is a huge proponent of raw foods and apparently his mom told him this when he was younger. I try to read it every day and remember why eating healthy is important; it’s especially a great motivation when I’m tired and am craving non-healthy foods.

People often scoff at me when I tell them I buy organic food or that I make meals from scratch all the time. They make comments (and possibly judgments) about how expensive it is or how it just isn’t worth it. Some also think I’m crazy for making granola bars at home and for wanting to be as natural as possible in all aspects of my life. However, I’d rather be paying out the wazoo for organic produce, which hasn’t been irradiated and still has all of it’s good stuff, and spend the time making my own food than pay for pricey prescriptions or doctor visits one day and possibly face a life-threatening illness. Now, I know I could be hit by a bus tomorrow (God forbid!), but I want to spend my time on earth being healthy and happy, so I choose to eat foods that promote that in my body. Not everyone will be able to subscribe to my ways of eating and living, but I urge you to find out what foods make you feel the best. While I have not been diagnosed with an intolerance or Celiac’s Disease, I have found that I am so much happier and healthier without wheat and gluten, and there’s no looking back now!

Although I do not subscribe to a raw diet, I try to eat as many raw foods as possible because I know how good for you the real thing is. It’s actually easier than you think to eat raw foods and I try to incorporate salads and raw fruits into my diet as much as possible, along with nuts and seeds. It is a great way to get your fiber and other important nutrients, minerals, and enzymes into your body. My favorite ways to eat raw foods are salad, carrots with peanut butter, smoothies, and taking a banana and an apple to work most days.

There isn’t much better than a fresh organic salad with blueberries I picked myself! The strawberries were so ripe I didn’t even need salad dressing!!

I know not everyone can afford to buy organic foods. It is a choice I make for my health and feel so much better when I eat this way. I choose to spend my money on the organic food instead of updating my wardrobe (which I need to do desperately!!), or going to the movies, or out to eat, or cutting my hair (seriously, it’s been a year and 2 months…something needs to be done soon!). Hopefully there will be a day when all produce is organic and we don’t have to worry about being able to afford fresh and nutritious food.

Okay, I think I’m done. Thanks for listening/reading! I wish you many years of good health!

Now I’m off to enjoy an evening alone!! Is it sad that I’m actually excited to have the house to myself since my honey decided to go tractor pulling??  I’ve got lots of books and magazines on my summer reading list to catch up on 🙂

What is your favorite way to stay healthy? 

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

Leave a Reply

