Sweet Summer Saturday

Yesterday was one of those nice, relaxing summer days. One of the first things I did was a little happy dance because I’m officially on vacation 🙂 This is the third year in a row that I’ve taken off the last week in June through the 4th of July. It’s a much needed break before my job gets really insane through July, August and the beginning of the school year.

I’m so excited to have this week to get a whole bunch of stuff done around the house. The first thing I tackled was our fridge! I threw out so much food, it was depressing! I’m making a new resolution to not waste anymore food!!! The good news is, my fridge is sparkling like new and has lots of room in it for lots of fresh food.

I have been doing a little less with my workouts lately, so I was excited to have the morning to fit in a great one. I’ll outline my workout and a few others on Workout Wednesday this week.  My workout was followed by the biggest bowl of oats I’ve ever consumed!

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts
  • LOTS of blueberries
  • 5 strawberries, diced
  • 1 tbsp flax seed
  • drizzle of honey
  • crumbled Blueberry Muffin (recipe to come!!!)
I kept seeing other bloggers put a crumbled muffin of sorts on their oats, so I decided to try it today and it was excellent! However, I think it was a little too much food for me at one time. I spent the rest of the day feeling very full. That did not deter me from enjoying a wonderful salad, both of these, this smoothie, and this later on in the day.

Once I showered and got the kitchen cleaned up , I headed to my honey’s aunt and uncle’s farm about 10 miles down the road. They have a small chicken house with lots of different types of hens that lay eggs. I went to gather a dozen since I was out of eggs. It’s quite an adventure going in there.

This was the best close up I could get of one of the birds. Some of them have funny looking feathers that cover their feet! They are pretty exotic and lay different colored and sized eggs.

After I got back from egg collecting, my honey and I had lunch together, which is rare in the summertime since he is out on the farm all the time. Once he headed back out, I decided it was too nice of a day to be inside, so I relaxed in my hammock with a new book 🙂

We’ve had that hammock for over two years now. My in-laws got it for us as an early wedding present, and wouldn’t you know we had the two most perfect trees for it?! We honestly didn’t even think of where we would put it when we registered for it, so I’m glad it worked out so well! If you look really closely in the background to the left, you can see a blue tractor. That’s my honey! He was out baling hay while I was relaxing in the hammock.

This little guy joined me by the hammock. Okay, so he’s not that little anymore!

After an hour or so, it was time to leave. We had another tractor pull to go to. Since it was closer to our house than the one on Friday night, I went to support my honey.

He started out really great!

Unfortunately, it didn’t end well…at least the rest of the day was great!

What’s your favorite way to relax during the summer?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

One response »

  1. Looks like a great day. New reader just came across your blog the other day! So cute! Things for me to relax during the summer are hanging out with friends and getting outside as much as possible.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

