Workout Wednesday- Circuits

What a beautiful morning it was! The perfect temperature and a bright blue sky were a perfect way to start the day. Since I’m home for the week, I have lots of time in the morning to hang out with our pup. My honey mowed a little “trail” around our yard for Titan and I to run and walk in the mornings since he has soooo much energy when he gets up. We ran the trail before he had his breakfast, then came back out and walked just a bit of it. Really, I just wanted to get down there to take some pictures of the gorgeous flowers we have around here!

And here’s the view of our ‘yard’ from the driveway. I’m so lucky to live in such a beautiful place!

Okay, now on to working out!

YOU CAN’T OUT TRAIN A BAD DIET

This is probably one of the most valuable things I’ve learned in the past year or so. I always thought that as long as I got my butt moving a few times a week, I could eat whatever I wanted. Apparently that’s not the case! This concept is the cornerstone of the Eat Clean Diet and I learned about it through one of their books. I was quite shocked to learn it because for so long I thought I was being so healthy. I guess not! I actually proved this to myself when I started eating a whole lot healthier about two years ago. The weight came right off without putting extra effort into my workouts.

I have found that when I feed my body healthy, natural foods with lots of good stuff in them, I feel better, have more energy and have overall better digestion. When I feed my body garbage and then try to work out, I find I don’t have the energy or motivation to do it. Plus, I feel sluggish through the workouts and don’t get as much out of it.

Even though it is more important to focus on what you are eating in order to stay healthy (and to lose weight), working out and weight training are still very important.

Just a few reasons to weight train are:

  • muscle burns more calories
  • you’ll increase the flexibility of your muscles
  • you’ll be stronger at every day tasks, such as carrying in the groceries
  • you’ll build stronger bones
Don’t be scared to weight train!!! There are tons of easy ways to fit it in, even if you don’t have hand weights or a weight machine at home. You can do a lot of moves with just your body weight or use bottles of water or canned goods as dumbbells.
A great way to do some weight training is with a circuit. Here’s one that I did last week. It was pretty quick, which is what I need in the mornings before work. Because of my time limit, I only did this circuit once. But it would be even better if I could do it at least twice through! I really get bored with doing multiple sets of the same exercise, so I try to incorporate lots of different moves that target the same muscle group.
  • 21’s with dumbbells– Start by holding the dumbbells in front of your thighs, palms facing out. Lift halfway up and return to start. Repeat for a total of 7 times. Next, start in the halfway up position and lift towards your shoulders. Return to the halfway up position and repeat for a total of 7 times. Finally, do 7 full biceps curls. This is an awesome move!!!
  • triceps kickbacks with dumbbells
  • jump rope for 1 min
  • cross lateral raise with resistance tube– Stand in the middle of a handled resistance tube. Cross the handles so you’re holding them in opposite hands. Lift both arms straight out to the side. Return hands back to your sides and repeat.
  • in and out biceps curl- Do a regular biceps curl (in) and then, keeping your elbows glued to your hips, spread your arms wide and do another biceps curl (out). Return to the in position and repeat going in and out.
  • jumping jacks for 1 min
  • one hand overhead triceps extension with dumbbell
  • overhead shoulder press with dumbbells
  • mountain climbers for 1 min
  • rear delt raise with dumbbell- Stand with one leg on the ground and the other knee on a bench. Holding a dumbbell in the opposite hand from the knee on the bench, lean over and let your arm hang down straight. Lift your upper arm until it is parallel to the ground while keeping your lower arm pointed towards the ground. Return to the start position and repeat.
  • chest press on ball with dumbbells
  • plank on elbows for 1 min
  • push ups
  • headstand for 1 min- please only attempt this if you have practiced for awhile. You can risk serious injury trying this move.

This circuit keeps me from getting bored and works pretty much my entire body. I really tried to focus on my upper body with the weight training, and then total body exercises for my cardio bursts. Another day, I might switch it up and focus on my legs by doing squats and lunges as well.

I hope you find a way to fit weight training into your exercise regimen. It is so important for overall health!

What is your favorite weight training move or workout? 

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

4 responses »

  1. I’m a cardio girl but am going to give the circuit training a whirl today! The crazy thing? I’m excited about it! This post had so much information and inspiration! 🙂 I’m ready to take on the day now.
    Those flower pictures = beautiful! Good Job.
    I agree, I am so blessed to live in a place where I can see the stars, sunrise, and sunset each and every day!

    Reply
  2. You should try this variation of the 21s:

    Do the exercise while on your knees (standing tall, so to speak) to isolate the arms and shoulders while doing the movement
    – Lift the weights half-way up, then lower
    – Lift the weights all the way up, then lower half way
    – Lift the weights back up to the top, then lower all the way down
    That’s one repetition, do 7 of these and you’ve put a new spin on the 21s which helps keep the exercise fresh for your muscles.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

