Groceries

Don’t you hate it when things don’t go according to your plans?? That’s what happened to me last night. I got home later than I planned and everything fell apart. If it hadn’t fallen apart, I would have posted about my glorious to trip to Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s last night before bed. But alas, I am posting now from the comfort of a hotel room where I’ll get two nights of uninterrupted sleep (no pup to take out in the middle of the night!!). And, later, I’ll be enjoying my day by the pool in the sunshine 😀 I can’t tell you the last time I laid by a pool!!!! I’m sooo excited!

Anyways, about my trip to the big city to do some grocery shopping! I have one word to describe it: overwhelming! There was so much to look at and so many new products I’d never seen before! Plus, I didn’t know my way around the stores and that always leads to a little anxiety. I’m used to just shopping the perimeter of stores because that’s where all of the good stuff is. However, at both WFs and TJs, there are so many good things down every aisle, so I had to go up and down each one.

But first, my friend Jen and I were starving once we got there. We had already been to Leesburg outlets, where we both bought cute shorts from Gap and two dresses (EACH!) from Ann Taylor LOFT- all on sale! I also bought the bikini I’m wearing to the pool today for $7!!!! Then, we headed to Dulles to get my engagement/wedding rings cleaned. Then, we finally made our way over to Reston to Whole Foods. We hit up the salad bar when we first got there and I was never so happy to have a salad before! Lately I’ve been eating a lot of cobbler, muffins, and a banana bread recipe I’ll share soon enough, so I really needed something light and fresh!

Okay, now onto the rest of the shopping experience! I made a list earlier this week that I tried to stick to pretty closely. I didn’t want to end up with a bunch of things I wouldn’t need (basically I didn’t want to spend too much extra money!). So here’s a rundown of what I ended up with at each store!

The goods I got at Whole Foods:

Organic apples

4lb bag of Pamela’s Baking Mix- seriously, I’m going to do an entire post dedicated to that stuff!

3 kinds of peanut butter- The Bee’s Knees, and two kinds of Santa Cruz PB: dark and light roasted (by accident!). I’m super excited to try all of these! I’ll be using the Santa Cruz ones in my homemade granola bars.

Organic non-GMO lightly salted blue and yellow corn tortilla chips- to have with my homemade salsa today by the pool!

2 dark chocolate bars

Dates

Red Wine Vinegar

Apple Cider Vinegar

Steel cut oats from the bulk bins- can’t wait to try these!!

Brown rice from the bulk bins

Walnuts from the bulk bins

Organic butter

Colby Jack cheese- for a recipe to come soon!

Organic Raspberry Vinaigrette dressing

Organic unrefined coconut oil

Organic baby spinach

AND 2 Larabars!! 

Last week when I was out shopping, I picked up a Cashew Cookie Larabar to try (I had never had a Larabar before!!!). I wasn’t blown away by it, but it was edible. I decided that maybe I needed more flavor, so I picked up Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Blueberry Muffin. The blueberry one was FABULOUS!! It was a great snack for me to have on my long drive home last night. I brought the other bar with me to have this weekend, in case there is a time where there’s food I can’t eat (see below for the crazy amounts of other food I brought with me :))

Onto Trader Joe’s:

2 bags of Brown Rice Pasta- they have the best price!!!!

Organic Ketchup

Olive oil

Organic crunchy taco shells

Bananas- can’t beat the price on these!

Corn tortillas

Parmesan cheese

Oatmeal and honey soap- I found this stuff in Minnesota in March and absolutely love it, so I had to pick up more!

All in all, it was a great trip up there and I hope to be able to make it up there again soon. It’s just really far away, and the traffic reminds me of why I love living out in the country!

As I mentioned before, I brought tons of food with me for the weekend for a few reasons. The first being, there aren’t many gluten-free options for breakfast at hotels, plus I’m not sure what’s on the menu for the rehearsal dinner or the wedding dinner as far as gluten-free foods go. The second thing is that I’m cheap! I don’t want to spend any more money than I have to (plus, WFs and TJs drained me yesterday!)

Enjoy this snapshot of the fridge here in the hotel!

Chips and salsa, bananas, apples, Larabar, banana bread, granola bars, spinach salad, dressing, chicken breast and broccoli, a quart of milk and all the fixins for oatmeal in the morning: two bags of oats with walnuts and flax seed meal, plus two cups of blackberries!

Okay, now I’m headed to the pool 😀

How are you spending your 4th of July weekend??

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

2 responses »

  1. WOW! Great deals going down for you! (slightly jealous) You must be having an awesome time; groceries, sale clothing, AND pool. This weekend is on fire for you! 🙂

    Reply
  2. That’s some good shopping right there 🙂 I’m spending my 4th with my nieces, my sister, brother-in-law and mom and it’s been fabulous so far!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

