My new best friend

I have had a super productive morning already! After a pancake breakfast and some QT with my honey, I set about tackling my to-do list! I was out of my Triple Nut Crunch Granola Bars, so I decided to make some this morning. To make the granola, you have to let it bake for an hour, stirring every 15 minutes. So I made a little game out of it: see how much I can get done around the house in 15 minutes!

During the first round, I made my own dishwasher detergent!!

A few weeks ago, I was almost out of the stuff and I typically buy it at Costco in bulk to save some money. However, most of their detergents aren’t exactly environmentally friendly, nor are they cheap! Plus, I didn’t have a Costco trip planned in the near future. So, I decided to look up how to make your own dishwasher detergent! Easy as pie, I tell ya!!

I looked around at other websites and found pretty much the same “recipe” everywhere. It is dirt cheap and makes a ton!

Homemade dishwasher detergent

Things you’ll need:

The ingredients, and the final product in the plastic container

  • Borax (I found 20 Mule Team on the bottom shelf in the detergent aisle at Walmart. I’m pretty sure it was less than $4 for the big box)
  • Washing Soda (not to be confused with Baking Soda. Also in the detergent aisle and only $2.55)
  • Salt (just regular will work although other recipes called for Kosher salt)
  • Powdered dish detergent (I picked up the cheap store brand, lemon scent)

In a container that has a lid, place 1 cup borax, 1 cup washing soda, and 1/2 cup salt. Then add just about a tablespoon of the powdered detergent. Some websites said the citric acid in the powdered detergent helps with something, so I just added a smidge. Once all ingredients are in the container, mix it all together really well. I even put the lid on the gladware container and shook it up a bit. I plan to shake it before each wash to make sure I get a good mixture of all ingredients each time. Then, use 1-2 tablespoons of the mixture per load, depending on how dirty the dishes are. It is also helpful to put white vinegar in the rinse aid part of the dishwasher (I promise it won’t smell!) to get the plastics and glasses clean and clear.

The verdict: WONDERFUL! I just washed a load that had some pretty dirty dishes. I tend to not rinse my dishes all that well before washing them and they all came out perfectly clean!

During the second round, I cleaned our shower and toilet with my new best friend!

On the box of the borax, it says it can be used as a cleaner throughout the house. So that’s just what I did!! I wetted my sponge and sprinkled some of the borax into my shower. I then just scrubbed away (no waiting necessary!) all of the nasty soap scum and hard water stains! It cleaned a million times better than any other shower cleaner I’ve tried!!! I didn’t have to scrub as hard, nor did I have to deal with the noxious fumes! Then, I poured just a little bit into the toilet bowl and again, super easy to clean! I will never buy another bathroom cleaner again 🙂

Also, borax is a “natural laundry booster” as it says on the box. I have also added it to my laundry a few times this week and plan to make my own laundry detergent…we’ll see how that goes!

During the third round, I swept and vacuumed our entire first floor. We have tile in our kitchen and heart pine hardwood (literally a few hundred years old!) in our living room. Both floors needed to be cleaned terribly! I’ve learned that having a dog means your house is constantly a mess and the floor constantly needs to be vacuumed!!

During the fourth round, I mopped the hardwood floor. It was so dirty! I typically only mop the floor once a week, but because we were gone last weekend, I’m not sure when I last did it…oops!

Success? YES! Not that I was playing against anyone, but I’m pretty sure I won my little game!

Now I’m off to assemble the granola bars, work out, go buy more Peanut Butter Cookie Larabars, and then relax in my hammock 😀

Have you ever made your own cleaners at home? Please share ‘recipes’! Have you ever used borax?? 

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

3 responses »

  1. I love, love, LOVE all the tips you share with us!…. I’m going to put Borax on my shopping list right NOW!!!! (pretty sure I’m going to use this post as a reference for cleaning!)
    Look at all you got done! 🙂 YOU GO GIRL!!!!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Better Thymes « eathealthybehappylivewell

Leave a Reply

