Better Thymes

Yesterday was a great day! It started out great with me being super productive and finding a new best friend.

I got in a great glutes workout, which I will share on Workout Wednesday this week. Then, I headed into town to pick up my new favorite Larabar! The sale was 10 for $10 so I picked up 5 Peanut Butter Cookie and 5 Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip 🙂

Right next to the grocery store was a natural foods store called Better Thymes. I just found out about this place last week and was very excited to stop in and see what all they had. They had a nice little bulk bin area (with organic quinoa on sale!), bulk spices, and tons of gluten-free products. They also had some of my favorite products like Burt’s Bees, Badger Balm, Annie’s all natural products, and Udi’s GF bread (for cheaper than I got it at Cranberry’s!).

They also had these little numbers:

At two bucks a pop, I ended up with four bags! The Dude Ranch flavor tastes like Cool Ranch Doritos 🙂 The sea salt ones paired nicely with my salsa!

I got to spend the rest of the afternoon/evening relaxing in my kitchen. I had already whipped up my granola bars in the morning, then I made my black bean and corn salsa after my shopping trip, plus chili (recipe to come on Tuesday!). And then these yummy burgers for dinner!

Yummy burgers

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 medium onion, diced
  • 2 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

1. Mix all ingredients together and form into 4 large patties.

2. Grill to desired doneness and top with cheese and your favorite condiments!

I paired these burgers with baked potato wedges.

1. Wedge two potatoes and cut into desired size pieces.

2. Bake in a 450 degree oven for 20-30 minutes, checking on them periodically.

After dinner, we headed across the mountain with friends to go see the fireworks that got cancelled on the 4th.We ended up having to wait until almost 11pm for them to start. Apparently there was some sort of wreck and there were two helicopters that were flying people to the hospital right up the road, so the fireworks couldn’t start on time. We’re not really sure what happened, but with two helicopters, it couldn’t have been good!

This little pipsqueak was soooo excited to see the ‘booms’!

We decided to take the pup to see the fireworks because we thought he would like to get out and be around other people for a change. Bad idea! He was sooooo scared of the fireworks! It scared the piss out of him….literally! Poor pup! He hid behind my honey for the whole thing and shook the entire time 😦 We ended up leaving early because he was just so traumatized!! I felt so bad for him, so I rode in the backseat with him all the way home.

Today, we’re enjoying a relaxing day at home. I’m excited to get in my garden and hopefully bring it back to life! Plus, I’m going to pick some more blackberries 🙂 This evening, a bunch of people in our town are getting together to play softball at a little field about a quarter mile from our house. It’ll be a great way to get an extra workout in 🙂

Are your pets scared of anything?? My in-laws’ puppy is scared of the vacuum!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

5 responses »

  1. My two cats are afraid of my steam mop… That grocery store would be awesome, chips and bulk bins! Have fun playing softball! Sounds FUN!

    Reply
  2. my sister’s dog is afraid of any type of storm as well as fireworks.

    Reply
  3. My dog is scared of EVERYTHING!!! She is part pit but you would never know it with as big a wuss as she is. She is even scared of the camera – hence the limited pics of her on the blog.

    Score on the larabar deal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

