Regaining Control

For the past two weeks or so, I have felt a little out of sorts. My routine and schedule have just been off (lots of it having to do with our 4 month old puppy!) and it has affected every aspect of my life. I’ve felt a little out of control, if you will. I know I can’t control everything, but boy do I try!

I like to plan. No, I LOVE to plan! If I could plan every minute of every day, I would. Especially at home. On my 50 minute drive home from work each day, I am always coming up with a plan for what I will do that evening from the moment I walk in the door to the moment I turn off the light. Do I stick to my plan every day? NO! Mostly because of my honey who doesn’t do the whole planning thing. He just likes to ruin my plans.

Okay, so maybe he doesn’t do it on purpose, but he’d rather not plan and gets annoyed when I try to plan everything because he likes to do things on a whim. Most of the time I plan on him not being there when I get home because he’s out on the farm somewhere; however, he likes to throw a wrench in my plans every once in awhile and come in early. Yes, I should be excited that my honey wants to come in and spend time with me, but sometimes it’s hard to look past the fact that now I won’t be able to get all of the things on my list done! AND, he always ends up doing it on a night where I have made a mile-long list!

I work best when I’m all alone in the house and have no one/nothing to distract me, so when he is home, I really don’t get much done. Basically, he just needs me to entertain him because he’s not good at sitting around reading or anything (although, as I type this, he is on the couch reading the paper….or on facebook, it’s a toss-up honestly!).

The thing is, I’m a much healthier and happier person when I make a plan and stick to it. Case in point: my week off from work was not planned enough. I was stressed, bloated, eating at all different hours, not sleeping enough and not working out enough. It was great to be at home, but I didn’t have a routine every day and it totally threw everything off for me. I tried to make plans for some days and sometimes it worked out for me, but often I would just tell myself that I had a few more days off to complete the things on my list and I would end up spending too much time doing something else. It was a huge wake up call to me that I need to be better about planning certain things in my life.

In an effort to regain control and get back on track (and to feel my best again!), I devised a plan for this weekend. I planned out the meals I was going to make, what tasks I was going to accomplish on Saturday and on Sunday, planned out my workouts for the weekend (and the rest of this week!), and did my best to stick to it.

It worked! I got so much stuff done this weekend and was able to have fun in between checking things off my list ๐Ÿ™‚

I have found that in order for me to keep up with my healthy lifestyle (because let’s be honest, sometimes it’s easier not to!), I really need to plan my workouts and my meals almost down to the T. Otherwise, I’ll succumb to the vending machine at work, or sleeping later because I don’t have any idea what kind of workout I’m going to do. It’s worth it to take 10 minutes each day to plan the next one if it will make me less stressed and healthier in general!!

Do you find it easier to live a healthy lifestyle when you plan? Or are you anti-planning like my honey??

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

11 responses »

  1. Total planner… I need to know what is going on so I can figure out what I’m doing now. The husband doesn’t understand…. I need to know when we are leaving for an event first thing in the morning so that I can decide what I’m going to do till the point where I need to get ready. I need to know what I’m doing later so I can figure out what I’m doing now… MEN!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ (all seriousness, love him more than words)

    Reply
  2. I think I’m a healthy mix of both. I love having a plan for my day and much like you I plan to the minute lol BUT on days where a wrench gets thrown in my plans (where I used to have anxiety) now I just take it as is. I’ve learned that sometimes you just have to roll with it. So on nights when your hubby gets home early, just relaz and unwind with him…it will do your body good ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. planner here! but something things don’t go as planned and thats fine too ๐Ÿ™‚ planning and making lists makes my life a little easier, but i’m always prepared for the unexpected

    Reply
  4. I am a planner FO SHO when it comes to health and fitness. My husband flies by the seat of his pants in his personal life … probably because his professional life is so structured!

    I find it easier to eat healthy when I make our weekly dinner plan and I like to schedule my work-outs.

    BUT, sometimes even the best plans get glitches and adaptability becomes essential. What the Army has in store for my family one day may not be the same the next so I am learning more and more how to go with the flow. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  5. I try to plan, but it never seems to go right. Things always changing, but I am trying to get back to a plan, routine. I miss it.

    Reply
  6. I’m not a big planner, but I do try to always have tons of fruits and veggies in the house. I also like to have a plan for my workout for the day – I’m never as productive in the gym without a plan of attack!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

