Two recipe Tuesday

Before I get to the recipes for today, I have to show you the loot I picked up at the farmer’s market today 😀

For $21, I picked up the following:

  • two ears of corn
  • a yellow zucchini- it looks white though…
  • a green zucchini
  • a patty pan squash- which I’ve never tried but am excited to grill it up tonight like the guy suggested!
  • 1/4 peck peaches- I see a lot of peach smoothies in my future- my honey’s personal fave!
  • bag of potatoes
  • one head of garlic
  • a beautiful head of deep dark green romaine
  • a dozen eggs
  • and lard. YES, I said LARD!!! Apparently it is the best stuff to season an iron skillet with. Plus, it’s not as bad for you as society has made it out to be. I have a fabulous book to review for you all that talks about it specifically. I promise to try to get to that post this weekend!

Onto the eats! The two recipes today are great dinner dishes. Both are fairly quick and don’t require crazy ingredients.

Call me crazy for making chili in the middle of the summer, but it is such a quick and easy bulk meal for me to make so I can have a good nutritious lunch all week! This batch made me five 2-cup servings and one 1-cup serving. Perfect for the work week!

Kristin’s World-Famous Chili (okay, not really, but wouldn’t that be cool?!)

Stellar picture, right? Sorry! I haven't really served it up in a nice way to take a photo of it.

  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 lb ground beef (or chicken, see note below)
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 28oz can tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • dash of red pepper flakes to taste
  • 1 cup corn

1. Heat a large stockpot over medium heat.

2. Saute the onions and garlic for a few minutes or until onions are translucent.

3. Add ground beef and cook until no longer pink.

4. Drain and rinse both cans of beans.

5. Add beans to meat mixture, followed by the undrained tomatoes.

6. Then add the corn. Add spices and mix well.

7. Let simmer for 20 minutes to allow flavors to blend. You could eat it right away if you wanted to though! Serve with tortilla chips and cheese on top!

Note: to make this with chicken instead, simply skip the ground beef step and mix everything else together. Add cooked chicken once everything else has been mixed together. Allow to simmer for 20 minutes so the chicken absorbs the seasoning.

Creamy quinoa with veggies

Again with the stellar photography today...!

I bought some ricotta cheese to make a ravioli recipe recently (which was pretty fab by the way!), but I had a lot left over. What’s a girl to do? Make up recipes with it! I found a blueberry banana bread made with greek yogurt over at Daily Garnish and decided to replace the greek yogurt with ricotta cheese. It only sort of turned out…that’s why I’m not sharing my recipe here today! It was good, but I need to work on my ratio of wet to dry ingredients before I share it.

Anyways, I still had extra left over. My honey doesn’t mind eating quinoa, but always wants some sort of sauce for it. I decided to whip this up for dinner the other night and it turned out fabulous!

  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 zucchini, diced
  • 1/2 large squash, diced
  • 1/2 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan (more or less to taste)
  • salt and pepper to taste

1. Heat the oil in a saucepan.

2. Saute garlic and onions until onions are translucent.

3. Add the chicken stock and quinoa.

4. Cover and bring to a boil.

5. Lower the heat to a simmer and let the quinoa cook until most of the liquid is absorbed.

6. Add the spinach, zucchini and squash and cover again to allow the veggies to steam a little.

7. Once everything is cooked, add the ricotta and Parmesan, then season with salt and pepper.

Have you ever cooked with lard? What’s your ‘world-famous’ recipe??

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

5 responses »

  1. I don’t do much of the lard thing but especially if you have a cast iron skillet it will work GREAT!…. Great buy for $21!!!

    Reply
  2. haha my mom ALWAYS uses lard and it drives me nuts haha. I would be curious about the book review about why lard is not as bad as people think…bc to me…it’s not so healthy.

    Reply
  3. You totally scored at the farmer’s market, well done!! I haven’t been in forever, having been absent/sleeping in the past few weeks, and I’m itching for some produce purchased from the guy who picked it!!

    Lard… Well… I’ll keep an open mind/look forward to seeing how you rock it out. I expect nothing short of greatness!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

