Workout Wednesday- Great Glutes

It wasn’t until I picked up a copy of Oxygen Magazine’s Glutes Special Edition last year that I truly realized how important it is to train my glutes. Being the biggest muscle in your body, they do a lot to support your lower half and can affect how you carry yourself. After all, without them we wouldn’t be able to walk upright!

Glutes 2011

A strong rear does the following:

  • burns mega calories
  • improves posture
  • eases back pain
  • improves running performance
  • stabilizes the thighs and knees (to help prevent injury)
  • helps with heavy lifting

I always thought that I was just stuck with the butt I had. It’s not too shabby, but I could tell that it could definitely use a little lift. After reading more about glutes training, I realized that it is possible to change the shape of my behind…it would just take a little bit of hard work and healthy eating! So I started adding in more glutes-specific moves to my workouts and usually dedicate a workout each week to them. Honestly, I’ve noticed quite a difference!

Not only have I noticed a change in appearance, I’ve also noticed a difference in my performance. I find that it is easier to run up the stairs at home, do hills on my runs, and just do everyday tasks like bending over to pick up something, or squat down to tie my shoes!

Some of my favorite glutes moves are:

  • straight-leg dead lifts
  • curtsy lunges
  • plie squats
  • hamstring curl with stability ball
  • butt lift on ball- lay with your shoulders and neck supported on a stability ball and your legs bent so your thighs are parallel to the ground. Lift your hips slightly by squeezing your glutes. Hold for one second then release and repeat.

Pair these moves with classic squats and lunges for a great workout for your rear and the rest of your lower half! I promise you won’t regret incorporating more strength moves targeting your glutes into your exercise routine 🙂

Do you train your glutes? What’s your fave move for training them?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

4 responses »

  1. I honestly have never trained my glutes…I probably should, but I’ve never done anything specific for them. The combo of cardio and yoga seems to do okay for me so I’m stickin’ with it!

    Also – you’re a farmer’s wife!?!? SO jealous!

    Reply
  2. You get after it girl!!! I don’t worry about training them specifically because for some reason, mine are so stinking strong already. I need to work on stretching them though! That would help me out A LOT!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

