Thirsty Thursday

Can you be addicted to water? Because I’m pretty sure I am! My honey makes fun of me for always making sure I bring water with me wherever we go, but it is something I just can’t go very long without. I find that I am always thirsty. Seriously, ALWAYS!

We all know that our bodies can’t survive for more than a few days without water; it is absolutely vital to staying alive. It should also play a huge role in a healthy lifestyle as it has some amazing benefits!

Lately I’ve seen the recommendation to drink at least half your body weight in ounces of water each day. I find myself going far above that and drinking at least 150 ounces of water a day. Honestly, it is more like 200 ounces most days. I keep a 20 ounce reusable cup with straw (from Bed, Bath and Beyond) with me at ALL times. I take a full cup with me in the car to work, I fill it up again once I get to work and at least 4 more times throughout the day at work. I also have a glass in the morning before I start my day and another one after dinner. Seriously, I think I have a problem!! However, I know that I am so much healthier for drinking it so much.

My cup and my Brita at work

Since I started drinking more water, I have noticed a lot of changes in my body.

1. I have more energy- seriously, water is my caffeine. The moment I start yawning or feel slightly tired, I down a cup of water and within MINUTES I am more alert and awake.

2. My skin looks healthier- my chiropractor pointed this out to me. She can always tell when her patients aren’t drinking enough water because their skin has a slightly scaly look to it. Check out the skin on your thighs. Do you notice a scaly look or is your skin really smooth? If you see the scales, start sipping!

3. My digestion is better- drinking water helps move things along in your system. That’s why I always start my day with a glass of it. Sometimes it only takes a few sips to start the movement!

4. My head is clearer throughout the day- I used to think that it was normal to have that fuzzy feeling throughout the day (especially in the afternoon!), but really, even a slight decline in the amount of water in your body can lead to trouble focusing on tasks you need to complete.

The biggest reason to drink more water is because thirst is often mistaken for hunger; therefore, making sure you’re properly hydrated throughout the day will prevent you from taking in unnecessary food (read: calories) because you ‘thought’ you were hungry. The next time you’re craving something to eat, try drinking a glass of water and see where you are on the hunger scale after 5 or 10 minutes. This is hard to do when a sweet treat is calling your name, but totally worth it when you give your body what it needs, not what you ‘think’ it wants!

In researching more about water, I have found that there have been so many books written about water and its benefits, which just goes to show how important it is in our lives. A website that stuck out to me is http://www.watercure.com/

I found these two quotes on the homepage:

You’re not sick; you’re thirsty. Don’t treat thirst with medication.

You are not just what you eat; you are what you drink

True, right?! Check out all of the things he believes are cured by water: http://www.watercure.com/wondersofwater.html

You’ll have to read more on the website and decide for yourself if water really can cure, but I can tell you that I truly have benefited a lot from drinking more water.

Cheers!

How much water do you drink in a day? 

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

14 responses »

  1. I think water is a pretty good thing to be addicted to!! That is awesome!

    I don’t drink nearly enough – probably 4 glasses per day total. I am trying to increase my water intake because I know how big the benefits are.

    Reply
  2. thanks for the reminder, I have been doing so bad with my water intake.
    I try to get about half my body weight in water, I normally do pretty good.

    Reply
  3. This is a great post! I wish I could drink MORE water, but I must have a bladder the size of a peanut, which makes it difficult! Especially when I’m working during the school year. I talk pretty much all day, & would love to be able to drink more water as I’m teaching, but I’m not really able to just head off to the bathroom whenever necessary, you know? I have been trying to drink more this summer though!

    Reply
    • I understand the whole teaching thing and not drinking enough water! My mother-in-law is the same way. There just isn’t enough time in the day with little kids to be able to stop and go to the bathroom all the time. My bladder is also tiny, but I’m fortunate enough to be able to go whenever I need to at work, so I just drink all day!

      Reply
  4. Ah as the queen of the back and forth trips to the bathroom at work, I know that tiny bladders can be tough, but the constant water consumption makes me feel so much better, cleaner, and happier!! Great post.

    Reply
  5. I carry around my Klean Kanteen everywhere and try to go through at least two a day!

    Reply
  6. I’m like you and almost always have a water bottle I’m sipping out of, especially now that I’m preg and it’s summer. It’s good stuff, though- I’ve stayed ‘regular’ all through pregnancy, which is rare! TMI? 🙂

    Reply
    • Haha! Not TMI, don’t worry! It’s great to hear from a healthy-living pregnant gal! I don’t have too many of them in my life, so it’s nice to hear that by keeping up with the healthy lifestyle, you’ve been able to avoid some of the common issues!! It gives me hope for when I get pregnant one day 🙂

      Reply
  7. I don’t drink enough of it, that’s for sure! ….I need to get on top of that, you gave me some GREAT reasons to do it! 🙂

    Reply
  8. I am soo addicted to water too! haha I loved this post because my fam and friends laugh cuz I bring water everywhere I go. I chug it like its my job 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

