Workout Wednesday?

I realize that today isn’t Wednesday, but I didn’t workout yesterday, so let’s pretend it’s Wednesday. Actually, let’s not. Because if it is Wednesday, then I need to go back to work, and I’m really excited to not be at work today. Okay, so it’s really Thursday, and we’re not going to pretend it’s Wednesday, but I’m going to do my Wednesday post on Thursday. Okay? Thanks 🙂

SUPER EXCITING NEWS!!!

I get to see this little one (and the big guy too!) today!!! My niece Ally is almost 3 months old and I have yet to meet her! My brother and his wife live all the way out in Minnesota, but they are in town this weekend for our family reunion (more to come on that tomorrow!). I’m so stinkin’ excited to meet her 🙂

So, I took the day off today and again tomorrow to see them and then prep for the family reunion, which means I got to do an extra long workout today! I took a rest day yesterday, so I hit it pretty hard today. I like to do circuits and mix it in with some running, so I did just that today. Inspired by this workout from Girl in the Pink, I added a little extra to the workout.

Here’s what I did today:

Warm up

Total body circuit- times 3

  • Run 1/2 mile (a 1/4 mile from my house and back)
  • Kettlebell swings- 20
  • Burpees- 20
  • Jumping Jacks- 75

30-20-10 workout 

  • Jump squats
  • Calf raises
  • Biceps curls
  • Triceps dips
  • Bicycle crunches

I did the total body circuit once, then did 30 reps of the other moves. Then, repeated the circuit and then 20 reps of the moves, followed by another circuit and then just 10 reps of the moves.

I will be the first to admit that I did not fuel up properly for this workout. I went with yogurt and half a banana….it’s worked before, but I think I need something more like peanut butter  to get me through a tough workout. I stopped after one whole time through and ate a cookie I made last night (recipe to come, I promise!), and drank some water. It really helped me push through the rest of the workout. It’s already in the mid 80’s with lots of humidity, so I was completely drenched by the end of this! I did some Yoga stretches as my cool down afterwards, then went in for breakfast. I’m pretty sure I made the best smoothie ever 🙂

Sweet green smoothie

  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 kiwi
  • 1 peach
  • 2 slices of crenshaw melon
  • lots of spinach
  • splash of vanilla
  • handful of ice

Blend to desired consistency

I’m off to clean up the house a little and then head over to my parents’ house to meet my niece!!! Lots of pictures to come 🙂

Does your family live close? Do you see them a lot if they do?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

6 responses »

  1. Sadly, my family lives about 300 miles away, but I try to fly back as often as possible (at least once a month if I can!) It’s especially important for me because my little sister’s just starting high school and my little brother’s just finishing up, so I want to be there as much as possible to watch this amazing time in their lives!!

    Reply
  2. I need to try your version!! 🙂

    Reply
  3. My immediate family all lives in California but my relatives are all on the East coast – so reunions with them only happen about once a year! SO exciting you get to meet your niece, she is SO CUTE!

    That workout sounds fabulous!

    Reply
  4. You are going to fall in love! 🙂 Hold her tight and love on her all that you can while she’s back!
    Way to get your workout on! And the smoothie! Yumm!

    Reply
  5. We do not live close to our family! Wish we did because we are all so close and we miss our little niece! We do not get to see them as much as we would like 😦

    Reply
  6. Most of my family lives within 45 minutes of each other! We see each other pretty frequently, too! I couldn’t imagine moving far away from them, since we’ve lived those close my whole life. Have fun with your niece… so exciting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

