Detox

After so much good food this weekend, I feel it is imperative for me to do a little detoxing!! I have no plan for said detox, but I know it will include lots of smoothies and salads. Feel free to shout out your favorite foods to eat when you feel you’ve overdone it for awhile. I’d love suggestions!

Although I drank LOTS of water and did a lot of exercising this week with the crazy amount of stair-climbing I did on Friday and the 4 mile hike yesterday (more to come on this later!), it still didn’t make up for the food I took in! I’m not mad at myself, nor do I feel guilty for eating such great food all weekend. Instead, I know I just need to get back on track with my healthy eating and my workouts so I can get rid of the puffiness I’m feeling. You better believe that meal planning and workout planning will be taking place today 🙂

Although I don’t really have a plan, I know that I will be limiting some foods this week and increasing my intake of others. I have eaten far too many tortilla chips in the past week, so I will definitely be cutting those out. My salsa is totally addicting and I couldn’t get enough of it yesterday, meaning I ate a million chips to wash it down with!! Plus, I haven’t had any of my granola bars since late last week, so I know I haven’t been taking in enough protein. Luckily I made that batch of protein balls! I’m getting much more used to the flavor of the chickpeas, so I’m enjoying them.

Did I tell you that my honey likes them too?? I had him try a bite in the car on Friday and do you know what he said? “I want another one of those!” My jaw dropped!! I love it when he likes the crazy healthy food I make 🙂

I will be going to the farmer’s market again tomorrow, so I’m hoping to pick up more of the yumminess below! I know I will feel so much better once I start putting good food in me 🙂

Do you ever do a mini detox? What kind of stuff do/don’t you eat or drink?
About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

9 responses »

  1. I feel like this after pretty much every weekend! I definitely try to drink a lot more water than usual which seems to make me feel better. I also try to watch my sweets intake during the week. I definitely don’t cut them out completely (I have a major sweet tooth!) but I try to be more aware of what I’m consuming than I am on the weekends!

    Reply
  2. I don’t like to say that I’m detoxing since the human body is fully capable of cleaning out waste itself. However I do know the feeling of having had a bit too much and needing to get back into eating the way that I feel the best eating. I like to say that I’m getting back to “être bien dans ma peau” as the French put it.

    I usually have a lot of spinach smoothies (frozen banana, fresh spinach, PB and icecubes – yum), salads and clean meat/fish. I like to keeps things simple and not do e.g. stews or things like that. A piece of meat with a salad on the side is what gets me back to feeling “fresh” 🙂

    Reply
  3. If I’m feeling a bit “blah” after a food gorge, I just add lots of kale and dandelion to my morning vegetable/fruit juice blend. Really helps energize me and dandelion is supposedly great for detoxing!

    Reply
  4. I try to just eat lots of fresh fruits, veggies and lean proteins after I over-indulge. And workout a bit harder that week until I’m back to normal!

    Reply
  5. Your honey likes them too?!? YAY! I just love taking one out of the freezer and waiting a few minutes, then, bliss!…. I try to just get back into my groove. I’m so pumped that I am not feeling guilty about the things I do indulge in or a few days I’m not perfect! Getting closer to self love!!! 🙂

    Reply
  6. We try to mini cleanses from time to time because they really do help us to re-focus!

    Reply
  7. Two of my favorite lighter meals to make when I’m feeling heavy/sluggish or prior to a soccer game are:
    – Capellini Pomodoro which is essentially thing spaghetti with sauteed onions, tomatoes, and garlic then shredded basil leaves on top. Add more veggies as you desire.

    – Pan seared Tilapia with different seasonings (sometimes Cajun, sometimes just Rosemary & Thyme) served with sauteed veggies and a minimal amount of pasta.

    Reply
  8. When I detox I have oatmeal with fruit in the morning a salad at lunch an apple dipped in yogurt for a snack and usually chicken and veggies for dinner

    Reply

Leave a Reply

