Family Reunion- part 2

First off, I haven’t quite started my detox yet…we had a cookout at work and I couldn’t resist! For dinner though, we had some leftovers from Saturday night, so I had more chicken, tater salad and pasta salad (recipes to come tomorrow!!).

Onto the weekend! In case you didn’t know, cooking for 25 people requires just a little bit of work! Although the recipes I made were pretty easy, it still took awhile to do it all. Luckily on Friday, my mom brought two of my dad’s cousins to our house and they helped chop veggies which cut my work in half! I also prepped the cheesy rice and broccoli bake on Friday evening and just had to bake it on Saturday. I was able to whip up the two salads in just a few hours (peeling hard-boiled eggs takes longer than you think!), so I headed to the pool once I was in a good place. I left the kitchen a mess though, so I knew I couldn’t stay too long.

Living out in the country, there aren’t any pools around so I take advantage when I can. It was so awesome to hang out with my mom, sister-in-law and niece, plus a few other family members.

Who wouldn’t enjoy time at the pool with this adorable little girl?!?! πŸ™‚

Okay, enough baby pictures. Okay, not really, there will be more πŸ™‚

After pool time, I headed home to help my honey get the house ready for the family. Luckily he’s so wonderful and he had already picked up the extra tables and chairs we needed. I quickly showered, did a massive amount of dishes, then got all of the food out and ready.

The guy who barbecued the chicken had arrived around 3:30pm to set up and get started. He makes the chicken on site and uses his own sauce and spices to season it. If I hadn’t been so rushed to get everything else set up, I definitely would have taken some pictures!

Because I like to be sustainable, I decided against using paper plates and silverware; therefore, I needed some dishes. As I might have mentioned before, my in-laws live a mile away. They are out of town right now, so I knew they wouldn’t need their copious amount of dishes. Since I only have a 6-place setting of my own, I ran up there and grabbed their pretty red and black plates to set our tables with. (Thanks, Nancy!!)

After getting all of that set up, people started arriving!

Blue-eyed blonde haired babes πŸ™‚

A proud great-grandad!

I was playing hostess, so I didn’t get to snap pictures of people milling about and eating, but I did manage to capture some after we were done eating. One of our family members is a preacher, so he led a little service for us as he does every year.

This one was extra special because he said a few words about Ally. He had all four generations of my family get up there to say a prayer over her. How awesome that we had four generations there?!

Grandad and Grandmother (my dad's parents), my dad, Nick, Jessi and Ally, and my momma!

After that, we had a little entertainment courtesy of my brothers. My little brother played “Carnac the Magnificent” and my older brother played his assistant (if you have no idea what I’m talking about, you’re not alone! This was definitely better understood by the older crowd!).

So basically ‘Carnac’ would take an envelope and guess what was in it. They were silly sayings and most of them got a good laugh!

My mom wrote most of the ‘jokes’ and it was all pretty funny! We had a great time laughing together!

We all hung out for a little longer after the ‘show’ was over. We were able to give a tour of our house and answer lots of questions about it. Finally people made their way out around 10:30pm. My honey and I were pooped, but I felt good because all of the plates, cups and silverware were in the dishwasher! The rest of the kitchen was a mess, but at least I didn’t have to worry about all that!

All in all it was quite the success! All 25 people had enough food and we even ended up with a little bit of leftovers πŸ™‚ Off to enjoy them now!!

Part 3 of the reunion to come on Wednesday! Beautiful pictures of our hike will be shared.

What fun games do you play with your family?Β 

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

4 responses »

  1. It looks like you had a great time! And your house looks beautiful!

    Reply
  2. Awww, what fun! The food, the sermon, people chipping in to help, the BABY!, all the family! What a great time! ….. My family and I eat food, that’s pretty much all we do, oh yah, and we talk too! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. That looks like a really special time. My family likes to play charades. And my dad is one to make up hilarious little competitions on the spot.

    Reply
  4. Healthy Hot and Happy

    Looks like you had a great time and oh my, that is one beautiful baby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

