One Recipe Tuesday?

It was Farmer’s Market today again 🙂 I didn’t get as much this week because I still had some leftover squash at home. This week it was eggs, garlic, watermelon and peaches! I’m so excited to have peaches again 😀 I really meant to take pics at the market this morning, but I forgot again! Next week, I promise I’ll get some because it is beautiful!

I also picked up some homemade kombucha, which is a fermented tea. In this case, it was oolong and rooibos tea. I’ve been reading about other bloggers drinking this, plus my chiropractor suggested it, so I decided to pick up two bottles today. At $3 a pop, they definitely aren’t cheap! The flavor is very interesting and it took me awhile to get through the bottle and I actually didn’t finish it today! I don’t feel any different after drinking it (which a lot of people say they do!), so we’ll see if I end up buying it again.

I was planning on sharing both my pasta salad and my potato salad recipes that I made this weekend, BUT I failed to take a picture of either of them….

So instead, I am sharing a recipe I made up tonight to go with my leftover chicken!

Cheesy Squashy Quinoa

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup chicken stock (plus a little water)
  • diced zucchini
  • diced yellow squash
  • 1/4 roasted butternut squash
  • salt and pepper
  • Parmesan cheese

1. Start by mixing the chicken stock and quinoa in a saucepan.

2. Heat over high heat to a boil. Simmer until the little white things spring out (so technical, right?).

3. Add a little water to the pan and throw in the zucchini and squash and cover with a lid to steam the veggies a little bit.

4.Meanwhile, pulse the roasted butternut squash in a food processor until finely chopped.

5. Add the butternut squash to the saucepan and mix well.

6. Season with salt and pepper, then grate in Parmesan cheese to taste.

Enjoy with the most fabulous leftover chicken ever!!! Oh, you don’t have any?? I do! But I won’t be sharing because seriously it is that good 🙂

Thanks for the suggestions for detoxing! I’m pretty similar in that I am including lots of veggies in my meals, staying away from added sugars. Also, resisting the urge to devour tortilla chips has been tough, but rewarding. I’m feeling phenomenal today!

On the menu today was the following:

Breakfast

Oatmeal with walnuts, flax seed and rasp-, black-, and blueberries

Glass of raw milk

Snack

Protein Balls

Larabar (before my noontime workout)

Lunch

Spinach salad with carrots, apples, chicken, and walnuts

Carrots and peanut butter

Snack

Apple

Yogurt

Dinner

See yummy pic above 🙂

I made enough quinoa so I can have leftovers tomorrow for lunch, so I know I’ll be set with that. I’m also about to finish making my triple nut crunch granola bars!!

Have you ever tried kombucha? What do you think of it?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

3 responses »

  1. I just got some quinoa and I have TONS of squash in my garden…. Maybe this is speaking to me! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I’ve never tried Kombucha, but I’ve definitely read a lot about it in the blog world! I feel like people either love it or hate it!

    Reply
  3. We love kombucha! We got hooked on it a few years ago, and now we make our own! It is great stuff and so good for you too with all those healthy bacteria in there 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

