Ice Cream!

Warning: this post contains no photos of ice cream! (just didn’t want you to be disappointed once you figure that out!) There is a recipe though!

Yesterday was our town’s ice cream social. It’s a chance for the community to get together and raise money for our local museum. The flavors of ice cream range from mint chocolate chip, mountain berry and butter pecan, to plain vanilla, chocolate or strawberry to Grape Nut. You read that right. Grape Nut, as in the cereal, ice cream. Raise your hand if you’ve ever had it! It’s a town favorite and my honey looks forward to it every year.

Our museum

A few different vendors come out and sell some of their homemade products and the Ruritan Club sells BBQ chicken. This year there was a lady who makes soaps and salves. I bought two salves and a face mask from the woman that I’ll talk about in another post.

The town fire department sets up a tent and tries to recruit more volunteers. They also give tours of the ambulance and give kids plastic fire hats!

There is always some sort of entertainment. In the past two years, it’s been an Elvis impersonator who was fabulous! This year the changed it up and had a couple who sang and played the keyboard. They were okay, but not as entertaining as Elvis!

The line for the ice cream is always long! My honey decided that he didn’t want to wait in the line in the sun, so he got a kid to go wait in line for him!!! I decided not to get any ice cream because I had it Saturday night and I was planning to make it again for dinner.

We brought our pup who did so well!! He was really hot, so we just kept him in the shade the whole time and gave him plenty of water.

One of my favorite little munchkins was there too!

The social is always a fun event and it’s a chance to reconnect with people we haven’t seen in a few months. It was an absolutely gorgeous day with less humidity than we’ve experienced in a long time! It was still scorching, but much more bearable.

After the social, we headed home to get ready for some friends who would be joining us for dinner. I made a gluten-free pizza crust (in the food processor!) and homemade sauce, then topped it with chicken, squash, zucchini, onions, spinach, tomatoes and three kinds of cheese! It was out of this world šŸ˜€

For dessert, I whipped up a new recipe in my food processor.

I love ice cream and always have. I could eat it every day. I finally bought a Cuisinart ice cream maker (because the tubs at the store are loaded with sugar and it was getting expensive!) and it was honestly the best $35 I spent! I have a recipe for ice cream with milk and cream, which I love, but I kept reading about using frozen bananas as a soft serve. I’m not too fond of bananas on their own, so I kept putting off making that. However, I stumbled on a recipe with peaches along with the banana. Now that is something I could try!

Raw Peach-Banana Ice Cream (inspired by this recipe from Sketch-free Vegan Eating)

2 peaches

2 bananas

splash of cream

Peel and cut up bananas and peaches, and then pop them in the freezer for a few hours. Blend them in a food processor or blender with a little cream until smooth. The cream adds a little protein and extra creaminess, but you could just use water. Put mixture into bowl(s) and place in the freezer. Stir every 15 minutes or so until it gets to the consistency you want. I was too impatient to wait until it was really frozen, so it was pretty soft when I ate it. Serve and enjoy!

I was really surprised how good it was! The recipe I found also suggested using kiwi, so I picked up a few at the store Sunday morning so I could make peach-banana-kiwi ice cream for Sunday night! While the flavor was really great with this one, the texture was a little different because of the kiwi. It just doesn’t get as smooth as the other two fruits. Either way, it was a great alternative to regular sugar-laden ice cream and I will definitely be making lots more of it. I’m so stinkin’ excited to have that food processor!!!!

Have you ever had Grape Nut ice cream? What’s the weirdest flavor ice cream/frozen yogurt you’ve ever had??

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

5 responses »

  1. mmmm I love me some ICE CREAM! I love Gelato, Fro yo, and frozen custards too. I always stick with either a fruit creation (berries usually) or a caramel/nut creation. YUMM

    Reply
  2. Cookie Monster Ice Cream from the Grand Ole Creamery in St. Paul, MN. Of course it was not the healthy kind of ice cream, rather full of decadence.

    I’m not entirely sure of the flavors that went into it but it was blue with oreos and chunks of cookie dough. The base seemed to taste of buttery maple syrup, not over-the-top but rather just right and addicting.

    Reply
  3. Never tried Grape Nut ice cream… sounds interesting! Your town looks so cute!

    Reply
  4. I read this post after I read your food processor post and saw that you are not a fan of plain bananas. Your version sounds delicious, I will have to try that. Your town is so cute and fun looking!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

