Two recipe Tuesday- Pea-licious!

Until recently, I was unfamiliar with Mama Pea of Peas and Thank You. That means that I was also unfamiliar with her phenomenal ‘recipeas’!!!

After drooling over a few of them last week, I decided I had to make some this weekend.

First up was her Pumpkin Spice Roasted Chickpeas. They were super simple to put together and didn’t require a lot of crazy ingredients. I adapted the recipe a little bit by using coconut oil and my own cinnamon spice blend.

Pumpkin Spice Roasted Chickpeas

1 can of chickpeas, rinsed, drained and patted dry

2 T. maple syrup

1 t. canola oil (or oil of your choice)

1 t. apple cider vinegar

1/8 t. salt

1/4 t. nutmeg

1/4 t. ginger

3/4 t. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350.  Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl until evenly coated. Spread onto a baking sheet. Bake for 25 minutes, stirring every few minutes to ensure even cooking.

The results looked and smelled amazing. However, I just couldn’t get past the chickpea flavor. As I mentioned with the protein balls, I’m still getting used to the taste of chickpeas. I don’t know that I can eat these by themselves. So in order to not waste them, I am going to make them into a fun flavored protein ball! I’ll let you know how they turned out once I get them made (in my new food processor!!).

The second recipe I made is something I need in my life every day! It is that good!

As I’ve professed before, I love me some Larabars!!! So when I found Mama Pea’s ‘recipea’ for Cookie Dough Larabars, I was so excited! I also found her ‘recipea’ for Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls- the light version. I liked that this one had cashews in it, so I ended up making a bar version of the cookie dough balls. YUM!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls Light

1/2 cup almonds

1/2 cup cashews

6-7 pitted dates (about 2/3 cup)

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

2 tbsp chocolate chunks

In a blender or food processor, combine the almonds and cashews until a powder forms. Put the ground nuts into a separate bowl.

Add the dates, vanilla and salt to the food processor, and mix until a paste forms. Then, add the ground nuts back into the processor and mix until a dough forms.

I added a little water at this point to make it all come together.

Remove dough from processor and press into a 9×9 baking pan. Keep refrigerated. Cut into squares or bars to serve. I clearly didn’t press into a baking pan, but that is my recommendation to you since I don’t like the way I did mine!

I'm not quite sure where my camera focused...

The first batch was made in my blender, which didn’t go that well. The final product turned out great, but the process left a little to be desired. Thankfully, my appliance angel rescued me and I was able to make a second batch in no time at all in the food processor.

The flavor of these bars is heightened by the vanilla that is added. It is definitely different from the Cookie Dough Larabar, but it is phenomenal! The date flavor doesn’t dominate like it can sometimes in Larabars and the texture is slightly crunchy (depending on how finely you chop the nuts) and chewy.

I will definitely be making these bars regularly! Even though cashews and almonds aren’t cheap, it’s such a healthy snack and cheaper than buying Larabars all the time. Plus, I think they tasted better than some varieties!!!

Have you ever made one of Mama Pea’s ‘recipeas‘? Which one? 

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

8 responses »

  1. mama pea is the best! did you get her cookbook? its a must 🙂 i’ve made so many of her recipes and they never fail me, and i am actually about to go make 2 types of bars right now that are hers. so delicious 🙂

    Reply
  2. I think I really need to start looking at her website – those recipes look good!

    Reply
  3. Ahhh hooray! I just got a big ol’ bag of dates and have been jonesing for a new recipe(a) to use them!

    Reply
  4. I haven’t, YET, but there are MANY on my to-make list!

    Reply
  5. Yum! I am obsessed with anything containing pumpkin starting around *now* (I get excited for fall, haha) so I’ll have to give those chickpeas a go! You have such a cute blog, BTW!

    Reply
  6. mmm I’m kind of pumpkin-ed out right now but this sounds delish! And they would make an awesome snack. Love this blog =)

    Reply
  7. I love my peas and thank you book! Just made the funky monkey last night. So good.

    Reply
  8. Mama pea is amazing! She makes delicious recipes!!! I still need to try those chickpeas they always look so good!

    xo
    ~Lori

    Reply

Leave a Reply

