Working hard for the money!

I was a champ in the kitchen this week! Two nights in a row, I had meals on the table in 30 minutes! We actually ate before 8pm 🙂

I made fried skillet potatoes (in butter and lard) with ricotta cheese, green beans and some pork chops. This was actually my first time trying pork chops….I’ve made them for my honey before, but I always shunned them. They were actually pretty good! I only ate half of one, but baby steps, right?!

Last night, I baked chicken legs with a side of corn on the cob, fried squash (in butter and lard) and a big salad to start with. Tonight, I’m hoping to take it easy and just make a pasta dish- I don’t know if I can get it done in 30 minutes though! We’ll see 🙂

My busy season at work has officially begun! Although I will sometimes want to crawl under the table like my pup, I genuinely enjoy the majority of the crazy busy weeks!

My students returned today and I will now be busy pretty much all day every day with training for the next month. This busy time also includes my lunches, which I will be eating in the campus dining halls every day. Although our food has been ranked #7 in the nation, it can sometimes be difficult to eat healthy there- especially with a wheat intolerance.

Yesterday I did really well- I ate a big spinach salad with hard-boiled eggs, carrots and cucumbers. I also had a small piece of pork tenderloin (I tried it again!) with some mashed potatoes and roasted squash. I tried a little bit of cheesecake and ice cream for dessert. Not too shabby of a meal, but I still felt extremely bloated. It just reminds me that I need to be careful of what I eat for lunch over the next few weeks. I’m very thankful to not have to pack my lunch, but it can get frustrating when the healthy choices I make still leave me not feeling so hot.

It just means I need to pack extra healthy snacks! Like my granola bars and homemade Larabars!

I will also be taking a supplement called Ultimate Green Zone. My honey’s aunt Dee is a naturopath who recommends I take it when I know I won’t be able to eat as healthy as I normally would. It will help me to get the nutrients I need when I can’t always get it from the food. Dee is a fabulous woman and I can’t wait to share more about her in a future post! I met with her the other night and had such a great time chatting with her about healthy eating! It’s so great to have someone close who not only understands how I want to live and eat healthy, but is also an inspiration to me on my healthy journey!

Another thing she suggested I try is chlorophyll. It’s got so many health benefits! And, it has a great minty taste 🙂

Being super busy at work also means less time for me to do some blogging 😦 Usually I will write a post or publish one I’ve written the day before during my lunch hour. Not having that lunch hour in my office for the next month means I will have fewer posts. I’m hoping my brother will be able to help me out with one or two, but I’m not sure yet. I hope you’ll stick with me and I’ll do my best to get posts in on the weekends!

Do you take any supplements? What kind and where do you get them??

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

2 responses »

  1. Your pup looks pretty cozy there under your table! I love cooking from scratch too using whole foods.
    Supplements I take depend on whats going on in our life at the time. I (we) take a lot of herbal stuff during the fall and so called winter months (down south) to boost immune system. I also take a green powder supplement when we travel or I’m not getting enough through my diet (I am in the process of sampling another green powder brand and will have that on my blog end of next week)
    Have a nice weekend. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

