A Weekend in the Kitchen

Seriously, I have spent the entire weekend in my kitchen! Luckily, I absolutely LOVE my kitchen!!!

Here’s what it looked like when we moved in last October (notice the absence of the extremely long table and instead a normal person table!):

I have made SO many recipes this weekend!

Starting with a homemade marinara sauce for spaghetti on Friday night. I’ve been making my own sauce for awhile now from canned tomatoes; however, now that tomatoes are in season, I decided to try my hand at using fresh tomatoes. Wow! It was amazing!

It is super easy to use fresh tomatoes. Just bring a pot of water to a boil and place the tomatoes in the water. Let cook for about a minute or until you see the skin start to crack. Immediately place the tomatoes into an ice water bath and let cool. Take them out and peel the skin, then dice the tomatoes to the desired size. Use them as you’d use any other diced tomatoes!

On Saturday, I said that I would be making a few different recipes throughout the day. I wasn’t able to make all of them, but I busted out 4 of them!

The first one I made was actually not on my list yesterday!

Averie’s Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls: I thought these would be phenomenal because they sort of sounded like other ones I’d seen. However, I have to be honest. I’m surprised I made it past the first bite…the recipe calls for agave nectar which I don’t use that often at all. I think it was the different flavor and intensity of sweetness that was the problem for me. I will eat the rest of them though! I think if I make these again, I wouldn’t use as much agave nectar.

The second recipe I made was Mama Pea’s Pumpkin Spice Roasted Chickpeas, which I’ve made before. The reason I made them again (since I actually didn’t like them by themselves) was to put in some Protein Balls. I used my first batch of these chickpeas in some Protein Balls last weekend, and they were so good, I decided to make another batch this weekend. Instead of making them into balls this time though, I put them into a 9×9 pan and will cut them as bars throughout the week. I also omitted the chocolate chips this time. They are good enough with them!

I know, I know...really great picture, Kristin!! Sorry, I was too tired to make it look pretty.

After all of that, I tried my hand at Leanne’s 100 Calorie Beary Simple Cookies. While they were definitely beary simple to make, I was not very pleased with the outcome. This was my first time using buckwheat flour and it definitely has a different taste and texture. Mine also turned out green and hers didn’t! I also made a lot of substitutions: vanilla extract for the vanilla powder, maple syrup for the coconut sugar, and peanut butter for the almond butter. I have cut back a lot of my sugar intake so I’m used to not-so-sweet things, but these were still not sweet enough for me. Oh well! They were fun to make 🙂

The final recipe I made was Pioneer Woman’s Peach-Whiskey Barbecue Chicken. YUM! This was a little time consuming, but simple enough that I know will I make it again! Lucky enough, my honey’s grandma lives 1/2 a mile down the road and had some whiskey on hand for me. My honey likes whiskey, but I wasn’t going to buy a whole bottle just for this recipe! By the way (or BTW as my honey likes to say because that’s how his middle school kids talk to him!), I could never do this recipe justice in pictures, so you’ll have to check out PW’s page to see how beautiful it is!

Because I didn’t get to make my other recipes yesterday, I made them all today! I told you I spent all weekend in the kitchen 🙂 And I still have to make dinner for tonight!

I made up all three recipes I made today: vegetable potato soup, squash and quinoa salad, and caesar chicken salad, and I’m quite proud of how they all turned out!

I haven’t taken pictures of any of the recipes yet, so I’ll just tell you that it was all pretty amazing! I plan to share recipes on Tuesday, so check back then!

Now I’ve gotta go make some tacos for the honey and I for dinner! And some salsa…I think that puts me up to 10 recipes this weekend!!!  I can’t think of a better way to spend the weekend 🙂

What is your favorite recipe to make?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

11 responses »

  1. My gosh! You were one busy lady hunh?

    I love experimenting in the kitchen, so much fun!

    Reply
  2. Holy cow! …. you really got after it this weekend!
    I made a batch of protein balls to put in the freezer at work for a quick pick me up. I swear if someone takes one, it. will. be. on. They are MINE!!! HAHA-maybe I’ll share 😉 Maybe.
    I substitute ingredients so much that sometimes I get something waaay different than the original person. Oh well…. Those cookies do look fun! Throw a honey drizzle on them and share away… 🙂

    Reply
  3. I want your kitchen. Seriously. I have a nice small galley kitchen with a “butler’s pantry” (what we call the extra kitchen space over the old coal bin, which houses the fridge) in Roanoke Va you can have… if you just want to give up that beautiful spacious one of yours 🙂

    Reply
  4. Wow, your cookies are SO dark! What type of buckwheat flour did you use? I’m sorry they didn’t turn out for you. Ours were so golden and delicious 😦

    Reply
  5. We could have been best friends this weekend! I was in my kitchen the whole time, too. It’s so relaxing, and you get to eat the fruits of your labor 🙂

    Reply
  6. I think my favorite dessert recipe to date is Mama Pea’s Funky Monkey, it is seriously delicious! Dinner recipe would be taco nights because it pleases everyone in the house and its easy to make.
    I love days that I spend in the kitchen, my kiddos do to as it means they are the taste testers. 🙂

    Reply
  7. My favorite recipe to make is just chocolate chip cookies – simple, but I love it!!

    I’m impressed with all you accomplished in the kitchen this weekend! Good for you for trying out some new recipes!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

