My new favorite smoothie!

After my 3 mile run the other night, I wasn’t sure what to eat. I had vegetable soup waiting for me (I promise to post the recipe soon!), but I just wasn’t feeling it. As I snacked on chips and homemade salsa (heavy on the apple cider vinegar this time!), I was reading Tina’s blog and was immediately inspired by the smoothie she made. And by immediately, I mean I stopped reading mid-post and got up to make myself a similar one!

There were two reasons I decided to make this smoothie: 1) I had no fruit or spinach for my green smoothies, but I had PB and bananas, so it was destined to be, and 2) it was exactly what I wanted (even though I had never had it before!)

Peanut Butter Banana Smoothie

I had heard (and read about) other people making PB and banana smoothies, but I always turned my nose up at them. I thought that couldn’t possibly be a good combo because I’m not a fan of putting PB on bananas in general. Boy was I wrong!  With the ice and the cream, it comes out almost like a milkshake! I have now made this smoothie four times and plan to keep on making it! 

Makes about 16 oz

1/4 cup plain yogurt

1/2 cup raw cream

1 banana

1/4 cup peanut butter

1 tbsp cocoa powder (optional)

ice

Place all ingredients, except ice, in a blender and blend until smooth. Add in the ice a few cubes at a time until it reaches desired consistency. Pour into a glass, smile really big and enjoy 🙂

The surprising thing about this smoothie was how filling it was! I ended up just drinking this for dinner because it filled me up so much. I made it for breakfast the other morning and it kept me full until 10:30am! The only downside to this smoothie is the nutritional info. The spinach really kicks up the nutritional value of my green smoothies and I feel like I’m drinking a really healthy salad. However, the PB banana one is more like a filling dessert.

Have you ever made a PB banana smoothie? Do you like the PB and banana combo?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

6 responses »

  1. Thank you for letting me know about my post! That was not supposed to go out! I took it off until I can finish it! My little one was so sick last night that I was unable to finish working on my post!
    Your PB smoothie looks delicious! We love PB smoothies over here! 🙂
    Thanks again!

    Reply
  2. Mmmm! I’m glad it caught you by surprise!!! I do love peanut butter banana combo so I knew it would be one of my favs…. Interesting to see how you make yours though! ooooh, adding the cocoa powder. Now it’s over the top!!!!! (in a really good way!)

    Reply
  3. looks creamy and delicious. I used to eat PB and bananas growing up, but now I have learned that my body does not do well with peanuts so I avoid them, luckily there are almonds and plenty of nuts that satisfy me 🙂

    xo
    ~Lori

    Reply
  4. I’ve never tried a pb/banana smoothie, but I love that combination so I’m sure I’d be a fan! I like that it kept you full through the better part of the morning. I might have to try this for back-to-school, when I need something quick that fills me up!

    Reply
  5. PB smoothies are a constant in our house! I’ve been playing around with other nut butters too…but PB always seems to win.

    Reply
  6. I LOVE the combo of PB and Banana, but I agree with you about the greens thing! I have a hard time not including spinach in my smoothies because it’s such an easy way to get in some nutrition! Although I do make non-spinach smoothies every once in a while. One of my favorites is 1/2 frozen banana with 1 cup frozen strawberries (with almond milk and protein powder); it tastes like a strawberry milkshake!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

