Now THIS is my new favorite smoothie!

I didn’t think I could do it after my peanut butter banana smoothie, but I DID!

I was running low on fruit and wouldn’t have a chance to get to the farmer’s market this week to pick up some peaches for my other favorite smoothie (a girl can have more than one favorite, right?!), a peach banana smoothie. As they say, “necessity is the mother of invention.” Since I absolutely needed a smoothie, I had to get creative.

I had recently seen that Kath used cantaloupe in a smoothie, and I was inspired. Luckily, cantaloupe was on sale at the store I stopped at! I also decided that I should get some oranges and see how that would taste in a smoothie. Neither of these fruits are on the dirty dozen list, so I didn’t mind not buying organic, plus they are cheap! Two bucks for a cantaloupe that will make about 7 smoothies? Don’t mind if I do!

Thus, a new favorite smoothie was born 🙂

Orangey Banana Smoothie

The cantaloupe makes this extra creamy and adds a fun flavor. I could really ‘feel’ the orange in this smoothie, so I would probably blend it for a little longer next time, but the citrus flavor boost really shined! 

1/2 cup plain yogurt

1 banana

1 cup frozen cantaloupe (add ice cubes if it isn’t frozen)

1/2 a small orange

1 cup spinach

Place all ingredients in blender in the order they are listed above. Puree to desired consistency!

 

I am currently cooking up a storm in the kitchen again! I am having some special company over tonight! At work, I supervise a grad student who supervises 8 undergrad students. They are all coming out for a Mexican fiesta and I couldn’t be more excited!

Inspired by Ashley‘s Taco Night Done Right, I am trying out a few new recipes that I hope to share soon. I’m trying out her black bean and potato filling, along with a modified version of her spiced veggies. I also whipped up my own version of Mexican rice, and then I will be ending the meal with an American classic- apple cobbler with homemade vanilla ice cream! I’m following my recipe for Blueberry Cobbler and using apples from our own apple tree!!

I’m saying a little prayer for the folks being hit by Hurricane Irene right now! It has been cloudy and windy and raining on and off here all morning. We’re far enough inland so that will be the worst of it for us. I hope everyone stays safe this weekend!

 

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

3 responses »

  1. I am getting tons of cantaloupe from my garden. So this is awesome….. Me and this smoothie- it’s on!!!!
    How sweet of you to have the students out tonight, I bet they are super excited to have some food that isn’t in a cafeteria! Hope it is great! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Mmm the smoothie looks great — love that flavor combo!

    Can’t wait for you to share your new recipes; I love Mexican food!

    Reply
  3. I’m going to a Recipe Swap on Tuesday night and the them is Mexican Food. Any chance a new recipe will be up by then – I need HELP! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

