Pickin’ fruit

I am a fruit-pickin machine this summer!

It all started with blueberry picking way back in June. Then I did A LOT of blackberry picking throughout the summer. I also did a little peach picking at my aunt-in-law’s a few weeks back, but they were pretty tiny.

But today beats them all! As I mentioned yesterday, I made an apple cobbler with apples from our own tree. There were so many of them that were up too high for us to reach, so today we hauled out the big guns!

Yep! My honey loaded me in the bucket and raised me up to reach the apples! I was a bit scared at first, but it was such a cool experience knowing I was picking fruit from our own yard (seeing as how my garden has been pitiful this year, this was a big boost to the ego :)).

Going up!

This little guy held on all throughout the crazy wind yesterday!

The view from above 🙂 I will never get tired of this view!

Since my arms weren’t long enough, I had to use a stick to get the apples down. I felt like I was playing with a pinata!

My honey and Titan watched from below. They also thought it was funny to just leave me up there while they wrestled!

The back of our house. One day I plan to post about our house from start to finish (all 2 1/2 years of it!). The short version is this: we added the rock part onto the 18th century log cabin. I promise I’ll elaborate in the future 🙂 To see the front of the house, check out my About Me page.

The bounty of my efforts!

Haha! Just kidding! I got way more than that! Since I had to knock down most of them, my honey picked them up and put them in a bowl.

Flying high! Getting ready to go back down!

About them there peaches….

Last week, the people we get our raw milk from told me about a local orchard that only charges $15 a bushel for peaches! $15! That’s practically stealing them! Because I have been loving peaches for the past month or so (and spending $5 per 1/4 peck, which is like 7 or 8 peaches), I told my honey we needed to go find this orchard because I needed more peaches! So we loaded up our pup in the car and set out.

What a beautiful place! It is called High Places Orchard and it is right off of 522 outside of Front Royal (if anyone is in the area, I highly recommend going!). They also had about 10 different varieties of apples! We picked up some golden delicious, gala and one we’re not sure of! The best thing was you could mix and match any of the apples and it was still just $14 for a bushel!

Since it is just my honey and I, we opted for 1/2 a bushel of peaches and 1/2 a bushel of apples (yes, I realize that is still a crazy amount for two people, but we plan to share with family!). Plus, I picked up some local honey for pretty cheap. Grand total: $17.75!

Titan loved the adventure! He passed out on the way home and I’m hoping he’ll fall asleep again here soon so my honey and I can enjoy something peachy 🙂

Please share your favorite peach and apple recipes!!! Cobblers are already in the works, as are lots and lots of smoothies! 

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

16 responses »

  1. You’ve GOT to be kidding!!! That is cheap! You must blanch, slice, & freeze them! MUST! (‘fresh’ peaches in Jan/Feb will warm the heart and be a huge mood boost!) …..I can’t believe all the fruit you’ve gotten from your home & the area! AWESOME….. Speaking of awesome, yep….. Your house. 🙂 Awesome!

    Reply
  2. GEEZ!! That’s an amazing deal on fruit!
    We live in an older house too! I’d love to do some work at sometime but just don’t know where to start! Can’t wait to see how you went about renovating!

    Reply
  3. When I was little at my Uncle’s farm, he would drive us around lifted up in the bucket! I loved it! I so need to move out to the country… just have to finish those last 2 years of law school…

    Reply
  4. Wow, such beautiful pics! Can’t wait to hear the full story about the house! And all that fruit for that price is amazing!

    Reply
  5. That fruit looks great, as does your photography!

    Reply
  6. Wow, those apples and peaches look wonderful and what a great view from your apple tree! I love apple picking but rarely get to do it unless we make a trip north. Can’t wait to see more pics of your beautiful house!! Enjoy the fruits of your labor. 🙂

    Apple pies are a favorite in our house. Peach cobblers are awesome too!!

    http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/8433?section=

    I havent made this one, but the recipes I get from this magazine have always been a success.
    Happy Monday. 🙂

    Reply
  7. I want to go fruit picking! Apples are just about my favorite food in the world, so I can’t WAIT for fall just to get some good ones. Or you could send me some of yours. 😉

    Reply
  8. wow you guys are loaded! I would dice up some of the peaches and just freeze them for later times! As for the apples, I just LOVE apple pie and cobblers! Here’s a great recipe from cooking light!: http://thehealthyapron.com/2010/09/13/apple-crumb-pie/

    Reply
  9. Oh wow!! Being from Vermont, we do fall big time up there. We haven’t apple picked since moving down south. Every year we say we’re going to, but we never end up going because we don’t know where to go. Sounds like a trip up north to Front Royal’s the ticket!!! That makes me so happy. Thanks for sharing!!!
    I love how your boys are just watching you do all the picking work 🙂 It’s good to have a ground crew!!

    Reply
  10. My sister just moved to farm country back in may, so I’ve been a fruit picking machine this year too. Love it! Love your dog too by the way, he’s awesome!

    Reply
  11. What a beautiful house! I love the look of it and the fruit trees are such a bonus…fruit picking is SUCH a summery activity…didn’t get to do much at all this year so glad you’ve been busy in the trees! Fun post. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

