Two recipe Tuesday- peachy Mexican

I was going to share a mac and cheese recipe I made last night, but it is actually very similar to my Cheesy Rice and Broccoli Casserole, except it was made with brown rice noodles and chicken, so I figured I would share what I made tonight instead!

Cheesy Mexican Rice Casserole

My boss shared with me the technique to making the rice (which is super yummy by itself!), and I added a few extras to make it a complete meal! This is great for company and you can omit the chicken and/or beans if you really wanted to. 

1/2 medium onion

3 tbsp butter, salted

salt and pepper

1 clove of garlic

1 cup rice

1 cup chicken stock

1 8oz can of tomato sauce

1 tsp chili powder

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (more if you can take the heat!)

1 large can of black beans (could use smaller, but I had a big one on hand)

2 cups cooked and diced chicken

cheese- lots and lots of cheese!

Melt butter over medium heat. Add onions, salt and pepper and saute until softened. Add garlic and rice, then the spices, and stir to coat. Cook for a little bit to let the rice sort of fry in the butter mixture. Add the chicken stock and tomato sauce and stir. Cover and bring to a boil, then let simmer for 30-45 minutes or until all of the liquid is absorbed. I added a little water along the way because the rice was still a little crunchy. After the rice is done cooking, add the black beans and the chicken to the pot. Stir well to combine everything. Pour a third of the rice mixture into a large baking dish. Shred cheese to cover this layer. Add another layer of rice and another layer of cheese. Do it one more time and load up the top with tons of cheese. Since everything is cooked, you just want to melt the cheese, so I baked it at 450 for no more than 10 minutes. The cheese gets really nice and brown!

Mini Peach and Honey Cobblers- for two 🙂

Last night, I shared a sneak peach of this recipe because it was so good, I couldn’t wait to share it with you all! With so many peaches, I knew I would need to start using them up soon. Both my honey and I wanted cobbler, but I really didn’t have a lot of time, so I whipped up mini ones. The crust on top of the peaches is really light and almost flaky. Because of the softened butter, it melts in your mouth like pie crust. YUM! Seriously, this recipe I made up last night was on point and will be made over and over again! 

4 whole peaches, pitted, peeled and sliced

1/8 cup chopped walnuts

1/4 cup Gluten-Free flour

3 tbsp oats

1/2 flax egg (1/2 tbsp ground flax seed, 1 1/2 tbsp water)

splash of vanilla

1 tbsp honey (more if you like it sweeter)

2 tbsp softened butter

Make your flax egg and let sit to congeal. Place your peaches in two small ramekins. In a small bowl, combine the walnuts, GF flour, and oats. Add the flax egg and vanilla, then drizzle in the honey. Combine the softened butter with the rest of the mixture using a fork or pastry cutter. With wet hands, ‘crumble’ the mixture on top of the peaches. Bake at 350 20 minutes or so. Until the top looks a little golden. I didn’t use much honey in the crust, so I drizzled some more on top before I served with Vanilla Bean Ice Cream- which is a must! I about died and went to heaven 🙂 Make this as soon as possible for the loved ones in your life and I’m sure they’ll offer to do the dishes…for a month! It is that good!

What is your favorite cobbler?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

9 responses »

  1. Can not wait to try; especially love that it’s GF!! When I told Hubs about your scoring all that fruit at the orchard, I could see his mouth salivating. We might be copy-kats, but there’s no shame in that game! 🙂 If we finish our big bathroom project (Okay, that sounds weird… it’s just painting and replacing a sink) we might make our way to some orchards this weekend.

    Reply
  2. Any cobbler is just fine by me! 😉

    Reply
  3. I like your rice recipe a whole lot!!! I’m thinking this would be good for the sister as well, if not for her, her husband will love it!!! ….Thanks for all the help with that post. You’re so thoughtful to look for me 🙂
    Mmmm, any cobbler. Whatever is in season because it will be the sweetest! Cherry, blueberry, peach, ect… it’s ALL good! 🙂

    Reply
  4. You were right about the Vanilla Bean! But we’ll still come over and you can cook for us 🙂

    Reply
  5. Your dinner looks yummy! I like peach and apricot cobblers, yours looks so good. I have never used a flax egg before, I will have to give that a try some time. Does half a flax egg equal 1 egg?

    Reply
  6. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I don’t think i’ve ever made a casserole, wasn’t even sure where to start. Looking forward to trying this! Looks delicious.

    Reply
  7. That casserole looks like amazing comfort food 🙂

    Reply
  8. I have white peaches sitting on the counter just waiting to make this cobbler. Delish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

