Workout Wednesday- Office Edition

I sit ALL day. I sit in the car for almost an hour on my way to work. I sit at my desk for 9 hours (I eat my lunch in my office) then I sit for another hour in the car on the way home.

All that sittin’ does nothing good for my rear end. Neither does my puppy who has sapped up all of my workout time in the morning.

Therefore, I present to you my office edition of Workout Wednesday.

First things first. I gave up my office chair a few months back and sit on a stability ball instead. For $9 at Target, it is the best chair in the world! It helps me sit up straighter, it doesn’t bother my sciatic nerve, and I get to bounce around on it all day πŸ™‚

source

Today, while participating in a webinar (really, I just sat, watched and listened), I decided that I needed to get moving. I had been freezing all day and had only left my office once in the morning. So, I stood up from my ball and started doing a few exercises.

I did the following “routine” at my desk (with my door closed because I was also in a dress!).

  • Desk push ups
  • Squats
  • Leg lifts while sitting on the ball
  • March in place
  • Crunches on the ball
  • Oblique crunches on the ball
  • Overhead press (without any weights)
  • Biceps curls (again, without weights)
  • Jumping jacks
Other exercises and stretches I have been known to do in my office
  • Hip flexor stretch
  • Lunges
  • Down dog
  • Mountain climbers
  • And anything else that tickles my fancy at the time!

I worked up a little sweat doing the above “routine” and had that extra boost of energy to get me through to 5pm. It wasn’t much of a workout per se, but every little bit counts and I need to do this more often! I actually used to set my calendar to remind me to do hip flexor stretches everyday at lunch, but since I’ve been using my ball, my hips haven’t been as tight. I plan to try doing more exercises at lunch when I’ve got the time in an effort to get me off my behind just a little bit more each day.

Tonight when I got home, I ran around outside with the dog for a bit, then ran up to my honey’s grandma’s house.

Why did I run up there? Two reasons. 1) I wanted to get a little bit more exercise into my day. 2) These bad boys!

Yep, she’s got raspberries! I know, I know! I just can’t get enough of the fresh fruit around here!!

When I got home, I made peach pancakes and topped them with peach jelly from a friend. Absolutely amazing!

Off to pick up my raw milk for the week πŸ™‚

Have you ever exercised at work?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

10 responses »

  1. we have always wanted to get those balls for our chairs at our desk!!! I am not sure why I never bought them yet, I guess ever time I got to Target I somehow forget that I wanted to get them πŸ™‚ oh one day I will remember haha

    Reply
  2. I make my kids workout with me in the mornings and stretch, it really gets our hearts going! I love it, they don’t know what to think quite yet….. but hey. I’m the boss! πŸ˜‰ It truly is fun to get our bodies moving! Love your desk ideas, I’ll have to cover the windows to my classroom if I ever get brave….. I need to bring my stability ball to work! That’s a great idea!!!
    Oh. that. fruit…. so jealous! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. oh i love fresh raspberries! And I had an intern job this summer where I had to sit for 8 hours a day and I about lost it. I wanted to exercises but I couldn’t because I didn’t have an office, I had people on either side of me! I can never do that again!

    Reply
  4. I don’t have much “alone time” at work to exercise! But those are some good ideas for quick, equipment-less workout moves!

    Reply
  5. Stupid Question: you can get SKIM raw milk, right?

    Reply
  6. i havent but i always thought about it…i would look at things and think “oh you could totally do lunges over there!.. or sit ups over here!” … my last job required a lot of standing.. which felt like brutal exercise after 8 hours lol

    xoxo ❀

    Reply
  7. Great ideas! I am going to buy a stability ball for my desk. I keep saying that but I know it would help me.
    So jealous of all your fresh picked fruit. Enjoy!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. I used to run at lunch every day! (Now I am unemployed though 😦 )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

