Five years ago

Five years ago, I wasn’t a runner. I wasn’t a healthy eater. I wasn’t a happy person.

Five years ago, I was overweight.

Five years ago, I ate frozen pizza, Velveeta shells and cheese, Hungry Jack pancakes, and absolutely no vegetables.

Five years ago, I was not a good cook. I wouldn’t even have called myself a cook.

Five years ago, I was addicted to Breyer’s Carb Smart Vanilla ice cream with crushed up Reese’s Cups. Seriously addicted.

Five years ago, I couldn’t imagine myself ever getting married.

Five years ago, I met my honey:

To say my life changed five years ago is an understatement. It changed all right, but so did I.

Today, I am a runner. I am a super healthy eater. I am happier than ever!

Today, I am 30lbs lighter.

Today, I eat homemade gluten-free pizza crust with veggie toppings, homemade mac and cheese with broccoli, gluten-free pancakes with walnuts and flax seeds, and lots of salads!

Today, I confidently say I am a good cook (and my honey agrees :))

Today, I make my own ice cream at home, sweetened with maple syrup. Sans Reese’s Cups.

Today, I couldn’t imagine ever living without my honey!

Maybe one day I’ll share the story of how we met, but for now, I’m just going to thank God for bringing my honey into my life. I’m so glad I’m not the same person I was five years ago.

 

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

8 responses »

  1. It’s crazy to think how much can change in 5 years. It’s also crazy to imagine what life will be like 5 years in the future!

    Reply
  2. Looks like a lot has happened in the last 5 years! Life is exciting like that πŸ™‚ You never know where the road will take ya’!

    Reply
  3. This made me tear up a bit! That’s so sweet and so wonderful that you’ve found each other and you’re so happy! Just wait to see what the next 5 bring!

    Reply
  4. Awesome post, Kristin! Look at how far you’ve come! Very inspiring.

    Reply
  5. This is such a great post!! You are just so in love with your honey it make me smile! Bring on the next 5 years!

    Reply
  6. You two look absolutely smitten for one another! Great post πŸ™‚ Also, congrats on the 30lbs of weight loss!! Way to go!

    Reply
  7. LOVED this post! So wonderful to see someone successfully change their life πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. Hi! That’s a healthy change. It goes to show that we can change if we have the determination to do it. U inspired me too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

