A day on the river

Thanks so much everyone for your kind words about my Five Years Ago post from yesterday! It really means a lot to be able to share that and receive such wonderful comments πŸ™‚

Yesterday, my honey’s aunt and uncle came home with a boat. We were lucky enough to join them on their maiden voyage out on the Shenandoah River for the afternoon. It was a gorgeous day that could only have been made better with a slight breeze.

Very unfortunately, I am having camera issues…my camera is not recognizing its own battery!!! I need to call Nikon because I don’t want to miss any other events like I did yesterday.

Luckily, my honey’s uncle had an iPhone and I was able to get some great shots and even a short video (which I am not technologically savvy enough right now to share it!). The iPhone took awesome photos and playing with it really made me want one!

My honey getting ready to wakeboard. He had never been before. I was sort of scared! Have no fear though, he watched a few YouTube videos on how to do it before we left the house! It was so cute πŸ™‚

And he’s up! He actually did an excellent job and I was very impressed by his skills.

When I was about five years old, my grandparents had a cabin on a lake and my family had a boat. I vividly remember trying to waterski when I was that young only to be dragged under the water and inhaling a whole bunch of it through my nose! That memory has stuck with me and ever since I have not wanted to attempt waterskiing again. However, I had a feeling I could do it this time, seeing as how much stronger I am now, so I went for it!

And I did it!!! My honey helped me out by staying in the water with me and teaching me how to hold the rope and stand up and everything. It was great the first few times because he was there to tell me what I needed to do differently when I couldn’t get up. Then when I took off, he was left in the water! Whoopsie πŸ™‚

It took 3 attempts to get me standing up. That third attempt almost did me in though. I crashed so hard on my butt that I was given an atomic wedgie by the water! I have two brothers who used to give me wedgies all the time and nothing could compare to this feeling!! I almost didn’t attempt a fourth time. But, I did, and I am so glad! I did awesome.

The only bad thing: the Insanity workout I did on Friday. Yowsers did my legs ever burn!!!

Afterwards we hit up a Mexican restaurant nearby and devoured some chips and salsa. It’s amazing how much of an appetite you work up skiing! I can’t wait to do it again soon πŸ™‚

I hope you all are enjoying your Labor Day weekend! Do you have the day off tomorrow? If so, do you have plans?Β 

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

9 responses »

  1. How fun! What a pretty lake too. My husband is off tomorrow and we have plans around the house with the kiddos. Pool and grilling out! Can’t wait, we are all excited for a family day! Enjoy your day.

    Reply
  2. I love water skiing! I used to just knee-board because I was too afraid to try actually skiing, but I finally did it at camp on year! My favorite part is when you let go of the rope and just glide down into the water… well sometimes. Other times I face-plant.

    Reply
  3. Looks like a really fun day!

    I do have today off, but no “exciting” plans. I might try to coerce my mom into driving a half hour to the nearest frozen yogurt place though! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  4. I think you’ve got that a bit backwards, you used to give Michael wedgies, not the other way around…

    Reply
  5. Love wakeboarding! We recently sold the family boat though. : ( We never had time to use it anymore.

    Being on the water is the best!

    Reply
  6. lol. Your brothers did not seriously give you wedgies?? My older bro used to pin me down and wedgie my panties up to my shoulders!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

