My love for Pamela (and her products!)

When I first decided to cut wheat from my diet back in February, I was pretty distraught about what I was going to be able to eat. I had primarily lived on food made from wheat: cereals, cookies, BREAD, pasta, pancakes, etc. I talked to a friend whose daughter has celiac disease and she gave me a bag of Pamela’s Gluten-Free Bread Mix. I made the cinnamon swirl recipe on the bag and was in LOVE! With this type of bread on my side, I could do this! I was a happy camper 🙂

To my surprise, I went to the gluten-free section at my local grocery store, and I saw Pamela’s Baking and Pancake Mix. I just had to get it, even though it is a bit expensive. Once I realized I could use it cup for cup as a flour substitute, I was sold! The first thing I made was the pancake recipe- YUM! I substituted whole raw milk for the water and oil, and later added in a flax egg, walnuts and vanilla to make my current recipe. Talk about knock your socks off good! My honey even REALLY liked it!

From there, I realized the possibilities were endless! I’ve now made cookies, breads, ravioli, muffins, cobblers, and LOTS of pancakes!

Now that I know what I do about flour- how nutritionally void it is- I definitely recommend Pamela’s to ANYONE, not just those with gluten or wheat issues. The nutrition facts on the stuff are so impressive that we should ALL be using the stuff instead of regular flour. I didn’t really notice a flavor difference, but as I use it more, I’ve become more attuned to the taste and can see how people might have issues with it tasting different than white flour. However, I feel like it tastes BETTER because of the flavorful ingredients- brown rice flour, almond meal, etc.

Visit www.pamelasproducts.com for more information on all of the available products.

One cup of the stuff packs 12g of protein so I feel better about stuffing my face with yummy cookies 🙂

My most recent creation with it is a Raspberry Banana Muffin. I have failed at making banana bread too many times to count! It never fully cooks in the middle, so I decided that I was going to make muffins instead of a loaf of bread. I have lots of raspberries from my honey’s grandma, plus I had two extra-ripe bananas. I also have cashews that I’ve been meaning to do something with. Naturally the wheels started turning in my head of what I could possibly create. On the way home from work today, it all finally clicked. I must make raspberry banana muffins with cashews!!!

Raspberry Banana Muffins

No picture because my camera still doesn’t like its own battery!!!

A light and fluffy muffin that isn’t too sweet. The secret ingredient adds a little extra protein along with a mild sweetness. 

2 ripe bananas

1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground up flax seed + 2 1/2 tbsp warm water)

1/4 cup honey

2 tbsp melted butter

1/2 cup cashew meal

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/8 cup GF flour (Pamela’s baking mix)

2/3 cup raspberries

First make your flax egg and set aside. Next, mash up the bananas, then add in the flax egg, honey, and melted butter. Grind up 1/2 cup cashews into a meal/flour. Combine the cashew meal with the baking powder, salt and GF flour. Mix together the wet and dry ingredients until just combined. Fold in the raspberries gently. Resist the urge to eat the batter straight from the bowl and divide evenly into 12 muffin cups. Bake at 375 for about 20 minutes, or until the tops are nice and golden.

Words cannot even express how good these are! I am so tempted to eat all of them this instant and not save any for my honey (who is sleeping with the dog right now!). They are not super dense like a lot of banana breads/muffins I’ve had. They are very moist and just absolutely delicious!

If you haven’t tried any of Pamela’s gluten-free products, I highly recommend them!

Note: this review was simply just me sharing about a product I love which I use all of the time at home. Pamela has never heard of me before! 

Have you ever tried a gluten-free baking mix? Which brand? What did you make?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

9 responses »

  1. VERY interesting! 12g of protein, WOW! This alone makes me want to check it out!!! You are so adventurous in the kitchen, trying all sorts of new things! 🙂 I love hearing about all of them!

    Reply
  2. I have seen this in the stores! I will have to check it out!

    Reply
  3. I am a HUGE Pamela’s fan… and if you buy it on Amazon, and sign up for a reoccuring order, it becomes a lot easier to handle financially. We use the breadmix each week in the breadmachine… and use the baking/pancake mix for everything else!! I think it’s one of the best GF flours out there. Another product we love, and do the amazon reoccuring thing for is Namaste Pizza Crust mix… have you tried that???

    Reply
  4. lol..I’m thinking Pamela SHOULD hear about you…and you make a little money! 🙂 Great endorsement!

    Reply
  5. I have seen this brand before but have never tried it. I have tried one pancake mix that was gluten free and it was okay, don’t remember the brand because I didn’t like it that much.

    It is good to see so many alternatives out there now, especially when they taste great! Too bad they don’t give any samples.
    That muffin looks delicious!

    Reply
  6. Kelli H (Made in Sonoma)

    I love raspberries in baked good! Looks delicious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

