Vanilla Maple Oatmeal Walnut Butter Cookies

This morning on my way into work, I heard an interview with Dr. Oz on Elvis Duran and the Morning Show (a really funny radio show that is highly inappropriate most of the time!). I’ve never really had an opinion on Dr. Oz because I haven’t followed his career really. However, I can now confidently say that he is awesome!

He said two things that literally made me cheer out loud in the car.

1) America is not fat because we eat fat, America is overweight because we eat white flour, white sugar, and white rice.

2) Between skim and whole milk, which one makes you fat? The skim milk!!! Once you take out the fat from it, all that is left is sugar- which makes us fat (see number 1).

Can I get an AMEN?!? I just had to share this! These are things I have learned over the past year or so and I wish I had known them years ago! I’m just so glad someone as popular as Dr. Oz preaches this kind of stuff. Hopefully people are out there listening 🙂

Okay, onto what you’re really here for: cookies!

I’m sure you’ve figured out what you might need for this recipe and hopefully by now you’ve done the mental checklist to see if you have the ingredients on hand (or in your cupboard…you know, wherever you keep the stuff!) to make these cookies tonight (or right this second if you can!).

A few weeks ago, I got an idea in my head for some cookies. I often have these thoughts as I’m driving home from work (see my Raspberry Banana Muffin recipe from Monday for more proof!), and I just can’t stop thinking about it until I’ve made the recipe. This was one of those recipes.

I wasn’t quite sure what to call these, so I figured I’d just name the ingredients and see how that sounds.

Vanilla Maple Oatmeal Walnut Butter Cookies

This light and fluffy butter cookie packs tons of protein and lots of flavor! Super easy to throw together in a matter of minutes. They are super delicious and will disappear quickly!

1 stick butter, salted

2 flax eggs

2 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup maple syrup

2 3/4 cups Pamela’s GF flour

1 cup old fashion oats

1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts

Beat the butter until fluffy. Add the flax eggs, vanilla and maple syrup and beat for a minute or so until well combined. Add the oatmeal and 1 cup of the flour. Mix until combined. Add the other cup of flour and combine again. Finish with the last 3/4 cup flour, then add the walnuts and mix with a spatula. Once it is all combined, use a cookie scoop to make balls of dough and place on a cookie sheet. Bake in a 375 degree oven for  12-15 minutes, or until very lightly browned on top. Enjoy with a big glass of cold milk!

These were beyond belief! They were light and buttery with a chewiness from the oatmeal that made them last a while in your mouth. I told my honey they were little puffy balls of buttery heaven! Maybe that’s what I should name them??

Do you keep up with Dr. Oz? Have you read any of his books or watched his show? Thoughts on his comments are welcome!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

12 responses »

  1. Are you my long lost sister? I love Dr. Oz, Evlis Duran, and anything maply. I will definitely be making these ASAP. You were spot on with telling me to try the full fat yogurt, it’s more satisfying and I feel like my system likes it more. You’re a smart cookie (hahah get it?)
    On Oats… I always get the Bob’s red mill cert GF oats… what oats do you use?
    Happy Thursday! Hope it’s a good one.

    Reply
    • Haha! I just might be 🙂 Glad to hear the full fat yogurt is working for you!! As for oats, I actually don’t buy GF ones. I buy the 10lb box of Quaker at Costco. I have found that wheat is my main issue and since oats are naturally gluten and wheat-free, I don’t have an issue with the ones processed in the same facility as wheat and gluten. I’ve heard good things about Bob’s Red Mill oats though!

      Reply
  2. Haha the name of that recipe is quite a tongue-twister! but they look (and sound) absolutely delicious! Is skim milk really bad? I didn’t know that, what about almond milk?? My world is quickly turning upside down…

    Reply
  3. I am on such a cookie kick! I will have to try these! Thanks for sharing.
    I have not followed and don’t know too much about Dr. Oz but my mother in law loves him.

    Reply
  4. These look super tasty! And I love when I find recipes that I already have all the ingredients for (well in this case except for the GF flour)!

    I’ve seen Dr. Oz a few times but he’s not one of my “regular” shows.

    Reply
  5. Yah, he knows his stuff and so does his daughter! He’s been talking about eating whole foods and ancient foods forever and LISTENING to our bodies. I like him best on AM news shows where it is packed full of the most important info. (I do have to admit I have a complex with eating full fat dairy. I know where I should be but for some reason I can’t wrap my head around whole milk…. I don’t know what my deal is…)
    Those cookies look like they were a complete success!!! So fluffy looking! Mmmm! 🙂

    Reply
  6. HI! These cookies look so good! No, I don’t keep up with Dr. Oz in the slightest…. I like his stuff but there’s so many smart/helpful people out there that I try to learn as much as I can from as many different people as I can.

    I’m glad I found your blog! and FYI I want your puppy! My hubby and I have been talking about a great dane… now I think I need to have one. 🙂

    Reply
    • I’m glad you found my blog too because I just checked out yours and am in LOVE!!! I love sweet treats and I’ve been trying out using natural sweeteners more lately, so I’m really excited to try some of the recipes you and your sisters have posted 🙂 About the puppy….my honey and I just look at each other every once in awhile and say “why did we get such a BIG dog?” I hope you have lots of space if you get one! They are the sweetest things though 🙂

      Reply
  7. I love how you keep promoting dairy. : ) This dairy producer thanks you very much. And the cookies look great. I will need to try this for the kids. : )

    Reply
  8. send one of those over will ya?! they look great!!! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

