Workout Wednesday- Circuit work at the gym

What a night! It has been raining like crazy since I got home, accompanied by tons of thunder and lightning. We lost internet for a little bit and then the power keeps flickering on and off. Hopefully it will stay on long enough for me to catch up on some work!

Great news: I got my battery fixed for my camera!!! I ended up buying a new charger and one of my batteries now works in the camera. Which is really great because my honey and I are headed to a lake house this weekend and I want to take good pictures while we’re there.

On another note, I made a new green smoothie combo that I just had to share!

Tropical green smoothie makes two servings, so I stuck one in the fridge for breakfast

1 cup plain yogurt

1 banana

1 large kiwi

1/2 mango

1 tbsp maple syrup

1 cup kale

1 cup spinach

5 ice cubes

1 tbsp flax seed

Begin by cutting and peeling the mango (frozen would work too). Cut the ends off of the kiwi and rinse well under water. Leave the skin on and cut into chunks. Add yogurt, banana, kiwi, and diced mango to blender, followed by the maple syrup. Add the kale and spinach, then blend. Add ice and let blend some more. Add in the flax seed and let blend for a little longer. Serve in your favorite glass!

Moving along to the heart of this post- circuits. I’ve posted about them before, but I’m going to share about a different circuit I recently tried.

As I’ve mentioned before, I work at a university. This has afforded me some incredible opportunities over the past three years. My favorite opportunity thus far was last semester.

There are students in an upper-level kinesiology class who have to do fitness testing and personal training as part of their class. Lucky for me, they ask faculty and staff members to be the guinea pigs! In years past, I hadn’t been able to work it into my schedule to sign up for the program, so I was really glad I was able to do it this time around.

I got paired with a student I had worked with during her freshmen year (my first year there as well), so it was fun to work with her again. She and I bonded and agreed to keep in touch and try to work out together again, since she is finishing up her senior year this fall. I learned a lot from her and seriously ramped up my workouts because of her. She would ‘train’ me on Mondays and then give me workouts to do during the week. Some weeks I followed to a T and some I just did my own thing, but made sure I got in a similar workout. Throughout the process, I lost 4 lbs and gained a ton of muscle- especially in my calves and triceps. I was the fittest I’ve ever been! Over the summer, I kept up with my workouts enough to stay strong, but I put back on those few pounds I lost. (I blame it all on our damn dog who has sucked my morning time dry!!!)

Anyways, now that school has started again, I contacted her to see when we could workout because I desperately need to get back into things. We finally got to work out together on Tuesday and we did a workout that we did last semester: a circuit at the gym.

Now, this isn’t just any old circuit. It’s a kick ass workout made easy. A racquetball court is set up with 14 different stations, and a grad student has a stop watch. Each station has a picture of the move and the equipment necessary for it. You can start at any open station and do the circuit as many times as you want. We ended up doing it twice through which was just tough enough to have us sweating pretty good and feeling a little sore. You do each move for one minute and the grad student lets you know when there are 30 seconds left, 10 seconds left and then when to switch. It’s great because you don’t have to worry about watching the time (which I think makes it go faster!).

Below is a list of the different exercises at the circuit yesterday (in no particular order). At some stations, there were two different weight options, so you could choose how hard to go. Also, you can skip a station if you’re uncomfortable doing the move or if you’d rather do a different move, you can. It’s pretty open and flexible, but it offers up the opportunity to get a great workout in without having to fight for the equipment in the gym.

Circuit

  1. Skull crushers with body bar
  2. Forward lunges with weights
  3. Step ups
  4. Jumping jacks
  5. Crunches
  6. Reverse flyes
  7. Weighted punches
  8. Mountain climbers
  9. Rope ladder
  10. Biceps curls
  11. Calf raises with body bar
  12. Deadlifts
  13. Push ups on a Bosu
  14. Front kicks

As you can see, the circuit was a total-body workout with simple moves. It was awesome! Even though I got home later than usual (closer to 7), I had so much energy, I was able to shower, play with the dog, make dinner, do dishes and post recipes last night. All before heading to bed around 9:45pm. I think I need to workout after work more often!

Have you ever worked out with a personal trainer?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

14 responses »

  1. I started working out with a personal trainer when I moved to Chicago – it was something my mom was willing to pay for since I told her how much I enjoyed it (the first few i paid for myself) and how it was so motivational. Even when I wasn’t working out with him, I kept up with my workouts other days because he would have been able to tell if I was slacking! It’s great to just show up and have someone else plan your workout and count and time things, and have someone to talk to!

    Reply
  2. Yum, that smoothie sounds really good!

    Reply
  3. Never worked out with a personal trainer but I think it would be super awesome, especially if you could have a relationship like you do with that girl! I would love to have something personalized and to give me real feedback!

    Reply
  4. Great workout! I love circuits, and ones in big rooms/gyms where you can move around are so fun! I haven’t actually worked out with a personal trainer specifically except for with colleagues as I’m a personal trainer! My mom is too, and we’ve worked out together but never her specifically “training” me. I would love to work with someone to push me hard like I push others, but thankfully I’m fairly self-motivated. At the same time, I know we ALL work harder when we’re being watched, so I’d love to see how I could ramp up my training. Glad you enjoyed it!

    Reply
  5. Wonderful circuit, Kristin!! Wish I could come join! These are the types of moves we do in my bootcamp. Love when you feel like you’ve worked each and every muscle.

    Reply
  6. I love circuit-style workouts like this! Thank you for posting it, I am going to use this at the gym either tomorrow or saturday 🙂

    Reply
  7. yay for battery back for camera! and we used to do a circuit style workouts during high school and college I remember always liking them I think that is why too I just love bodyrock, as it is similar. I hope you have a wonderful Friday!

    Reply
  8. When Jessi and I joined LA Fitness we got a free session with one of the trainers. She was a female body builder at one time, and while the session was a good introduction to some different combinations of exercises in order to get a good workout, she seemed to want to push body building instead of what I preferred to focus on – exercises that work more than a single muscle group so I’m not forced to spend hours I don’t have in the gym each week.

    I found that I worked out harder and more consistently with a friend or my brother who have similar fitness goals.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

