Butternut Squash Pancakes

Last week, Jenna over at Eat, Live, Run posted her favorite fall recipes. One of them stood out to me: Butternut Squash Pancakes.

At first, I was a little taken aback. Butternut squash in pancakes? But remembering that I had leftover roasted butternut squash (which I picked up from the farmer’s market last week) from making my cheesy rice casserole, I decided I’d give it a try.

I pureed up the roasted butternut squash and just went for it. I halved my pancake recipe (omitting the nuts because I forgot!) and added about 1/4 cup squash. The final product was excellent! However, I just made them even better 🙂

Butternut Squash Pancakes (inspired by Jenna)

This fall recipe will warm your heart and soothe the soul after a long day (trust me!!!!). The added squash gives the pancakes a boost flavor-wise, but also nutrient-wise with loads of fiber and vitamin A. Enjoy for either breakfast or dinner (like me!). 

1 cup GF baking mix/flour

1 tsp cinnamon/nutmeg blend or pumpkin pie spice

1/4 cup oats

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground flax seed plus 2 1/2 tbsp water, then set aside)

1 cup raw milk, plus a few tablespoons to thin it out to desired consistency

1 cup butternut squash puree

1-2 tbsp coconut oil

pure maple syrup

Make your flax egg and set aside. Mix together the dry ingredients. Add the flax egg, 1 cup of milk and the butternut squash. Mix well. Use a few tablespoons of milk to thin it out if necessary. Heat your skillet or frying pan over low heat. Wait until it is heated to pour on your first pancake. You want the batter to sizzle as you pour it on. After it is heated, drop a tablespoon of coconut oil in and let it melt and coat the pan with it. Pour the batter into the skillet and thin out with a spatula if too thick. Let cook until bubbles form around the edges. Make sure the coconut oil touches the edges of the pancake as it cooks. This will allow it to almost fry in the oil giving it a crispy edge. Trust me, the coconut oil is totally worth it and takes these pancakes to a whole new level!! Serve with a generous drizzle of maple syrup 🙂

I will be working on editing my pictures from the weekend, but I can’t help but share this one I took Saturday morning when I first got to see Ally again. That face will warm the heart and soothe the soul too 🙂 Enjoy!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

5 responses »

  1. pancakes sound wonderful, perfect for fall

    Reply
  2. that sounds like it could be very interesting! I haven’t gotten into pancake making yet, but I might have to give it a try once it gets colder here!

    Reply
  3. Soul food is so important this time of year. Fall is all about shedding our emotions and going inward and there’s no better way to do that then cuddling up with a plate of pancakes and warming our hearts. Very nice!

    Reply
  4. Pureeing sweet potatoes in there would be good too…. I never thought to puree a veggie to put in them, I don’t know why I thought mashed was the way to go?!?!
    She is growing up super fast!!!! CUTE!

    Reply
  5. Awesome pancake recipe! I will have to try this out. Havent tried the flax egg yet…maybe I should give it a try.
    Such a cute picture of baby Ally!! I bet you had a great time with your family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

