Vanilla Cashew Butter Cookies

Ever since I saw Ashley post a recipe for Cake Batter Cashew Butter, I knew I had to make some. I finally bought a package of cashews when I was in Minnesota last weekend just for it.

I finally found the time to make it today!

I had to change up Ashley’s recipe just a little because I don’t like almond extract, I don’t have sucanat, and my cashews were already salted. I also left out the sprinkles, so really I made almost an entirely different recipe than Ashley, but her recipe was my inspiration!

Vanilla Cashew Butterย 

I had never had cashew butter before today, and now I’m not sure how I’m going to be able to afford the $8.99/lb price tag so I can have it all the time!ย 

2 cups dry roasted and lightly salted cashews (from TJs)

2 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp maple syrup

Put the cashews in your food processor and process until smooth. Stop it every once in awhile to scrape down the sides. I probably stopped it 4 times before it got smooth. Then I stopped it 2 more times. Don’t be alarmed (like I was!) if it forms into a big ball and spins around on the blade for awhile. It will stop and smooth out eventually. Once it is smooth, add the vanilla and maple syrup. Process again for a minute. Taste it to make sure it is sweet enough and add more maple syrup if desired and process again. Store in an airtight container, I used 1/2 pint mason jars. This made about 1 1/4 cups. Resist the urge to dive into the jars with a spoon and eat it all in one sitting!

*Note: Having tried lots of different brands of vanilla extract, I must make this comment here. Make sure you have quality vanilla extract. The vanilla flavor is so potent in this that you don’t want to have a cheap brand that doesn’t taste all that good.

So with all this cashew butter lying around, I was thinking of all the ways I could enjoy it. I had it on a piece of GF toast and boy was it good. But, I knew I didn’t want to eat toast just to enjoy the cashew butter.

Then, I had a brilliant idea. Cookies!!!

Vanilla Cashew Butter Cookies

A delicious way to enjoy cashew butter! The cookies are soft on the inside and have a nice outer layer that adds a small amount of crunch. They are buttery with a powerful vanilla flavor, and simply sweet. Definitely my new favorite cookie!!

6 tbsp salted butter, softened

2/3 cup maple syrup

2 flax eggs

2 tsp vanilla

2/3 cup cashew butter

2 cups GF flour

Preheat your oven to 350*. Begin by beating the butter until fluffy. Add the maple syrup, flax eggs, and vanilla. Beat until combined. Add the cashew butter and mix again until smooth. Resist the urge to eat it straight from the bowl. Add the flour 1/2 cup a time. I think I used a few extra tablespoons to get it thick enough. The dough won’t be as thick as most cookie doughs. It is light and fluffy and will spread when baking. I used a large cookie scoop and made 24 perfect sized cookies with a little leftover batter for me to enjoy off the spoon ๐Ÿ™‚ Bake the cookies for about 10-12 minutes. Bake longer for crunchier cookies.

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

5 responses »

  1. Cashews are good no matter how they are being used! Mmmmm! ….I like her cake batter idea. I need to make something that tastes like cake batter ๐Ÿ™‚
    Good luck finding at extra $$$ to help you afford your new addiction ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  2. Those look awesome! I am on a cookie kick lately and probably should slow down but then again now I have to try these!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. This truly looks delicious. Does Cashew butter taste like Peanut butter except maybe a little sweeter? I’ve never had it!
    Chelsea @ Naturally Sweet Recipes

    Reply
  4. These look and sound divine!
    I must try these…

    Thank you for posting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

