What I learned from my car accident

It’s been a little over two weeks now since I was in a car accident. My car is totaled, but I’m fortunate enough to have my little brother’s car to drive for awhile (plus, it has all sorts of amenities that mine didn’t! Like power locks, windows, and mirrors; cruise control, and a sunroof :)).

In the two weeks since the accident happened, I’ve been thinking a lot about it and trying to make some sense of it. I learned a few things and I wanted to share a little about them because I think they are things that most people have to come to terms with at some point in their life.

1. I’m not invincible. I’ve gone through life without any major incidents. I’ve only had a few minor injuries from cheerleading and I had only ever been in minor car accidents or haven’t been the one driving when an accident occurred. Therefore, I truly thought I was invincible (especially in my car). I try to teach the college students I work with that they aren’t invincible (especially when it comes to drinking), but for some reason, I never took the advice myself. I always said to myself (usually subconsciously) “oh, that couldn’t/wouldn’t ever happen to me.” Not true! It doesn’t matter how careful I try to be when driving, you never know what could happen to you.

2. Expect the unexpected. I’ve always loved this saying, but I tend to forget about it until something unexpected does happen. We should be prepared for the unexpected things in life because you never know when they are coming. If we can’t truly be prepared, we should at least know that we aren’t in total control and all sorts of things can happen to us, especially when we least expect it.

3. It doesn’t matter how healthy I eat…I could die tomorrow. This one may sound controversial, but hear me out. I focus on eating a healthy diet 99% of the time. I do it because it makes me feel good. I feel more energetic, less crabby, happier, and overall just have a better outlook on life than when I eat unhealthy. I want to live to be 100, and I want to be a healthy 100 year old so I make sure I eat healthy and workout regularly. However, my accident really opened my eyes to see that I could easily be taken out of this world tomorrow by something other than my health. Does it mean I’m going to stop eating healthy? Absolutely not. But, it is going to make me that much more thankful for being alive and for the healthy food I have to eat every day.

4. I can’t control everything. I’ve mentioned before that I really like to plan. Part of it is so that I make sure I get stuff done, but the other part is being in control. I like to know what is going to happen next so I can be prepared for it. The accident happened so quickly, and I surely wasn’t expecting it, so there was no way for me to prepare and I couldn’t control a single bit of it. It taught me that as much as I might try to plan things out and be in control all the time, sometimes it just won’t go my way. I need to let go of the reins a little bit and be better about accepting the things that come my way that I didn’t plan for.

Have you ever been in an accident? What did you learn from it?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

7 responses »

  1. I’ve been away and didn’t know that you had a car accident – i’m so glad you are ok! That’s a great list of lessons learnt.

    Reply
  2. all very true! sometimes we get so wrapped up in our daily lives that we don’t look at the big picture! I also need to remember that I can’t control everything. sometimes I need to realize that things happen and I need to learn how to handle them and move on rather than just freaking out!

    Reply
  3. We are all very glad that you are okay! Truly, we are glad you are safe and sound! Isn’t it crazy how fast it can all change?!
    ….I have always known I wasn’t invincible, I have a sister that was killed in a tragic accident when she was only 6, so I have always known that in a blink of an eye, it could all be gone. I have learned a lot through that loss, on the same token- I have learned to live each day honestly and fully.

    Reply
  4. Glad you’re okay!

    I’ve never been in a serious accident. I was only ever in a fender bender once & I hit a dog while driving at night which was a seriously traumatic event for me! 😦

    Here is a crazy accident story…

    My high school boyfriend got in a pretty serious car accident with a school bus driving to school one day. One of the people on that bus? My now-husband! How weird!!!

    Reply
  5. Wow, I had no idea. I’m glad you’re okay. I’ve never been in an ‘accident’ but have been hit a couple of times in parking lots. Darn those people not looking before they back up INTO my car! Those shook me up enough, I couldn’t imagine being in an accident as you were.
    Experiences like that definitely make us take a second look at our lives and give us a different perspective. I’m just happy you’re safe and sound 🙂

    Reply
  6. I’m so glad you’re ok Kristin!!! I was in a pretty scary car accident about 10 years ago and it really shook me up for several months. It is definitely a time of processing. The things you have learned are life lessons that we all struggle with.

    Reply
  7. Glad you are okay and didnt get hurt too bad. I was in a small fender bender but that didnt phase me near as much as the blood clot the Dr’s found in my leg when I was pregnant with me first baby. That was a huge eye opener on life and that in a blink of an eye it could all be gone just like that. That one event changed me and my life forever and not all for the good, I had to deal with anxiety for years after that one incident.
    Life is a precious gift that we have to cherish every single day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

