Pulled Pork Recipe

Before I get to my yummy recipe today, don’t forget that it is Tuesday Trainer day!!! You can head over to Lindsay’s and get to know the trainers better. Can you believe how nice the weather was this weekend for my video?! It was amazing!!

lindsayslist.co-tuesday_trainer

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Forgive me for not taking a picture…I’m pretty sure a screw was loose in my head when I made this because it didn’t even cross my mind to take a photo of it ūüôā

When I visited my brother and sister-in-law in Minnesota a few weeks ago, my brother made pulled pork. I really haven’t eaten a lot of pork in my day, so I was hesitant to try it. Turns out, it’s not so bad! I knew my honey would like pulled pork sandwiches to switch things up a little, so I set out to try making my own.

I picked up a 2 lb pork butt at the store, which ended up being too much for just the two of us. Next time, I will freeze some and see how that goes so I don’t waste any leftovers. I looked up a few recipes and talked to my brother about how he made his, but I didn’t have liquor on hand, nor any barbecue sauce. The liquor helps to break down the meat, as does vinegar, so I opted for the vinegar.¬†I decided to go with a very simple method of cooking the pork and then make my own sauce for it. It turned out amazing!!

Pulled Pork and Homemade Sauce

A simple recipe that you can easily adapt to make your own. The sauce is quick and uses items you probably have on hand. It is a little sweet and vinegary at the same time. 

Pork

  • 2 lbs pork butt
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar (ACV)
  • bbq seasoning
  • buffalo seasoning
  • chipotle seasoning
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • water
  1. Heat crock pot on low.
  2. Put coconut oil in crock pot to melt. Add the onions and garlic, along with some salt and pepper.
  3. Put your cut of  meat on a plate. Pierce the meat in multiple spots with a fork on one side.
  4. Pour 1 tbsp ACV over it, making sure the whole side gets wet. Sprinkle generously with the BBQ seasoning, followed by a little less buffalo seasoning, then just a few shakes of the chipotle seasoning.
  5. Put the meat into the crock pot, seasoned side down. Pierce the other side of the meat with a fork, pour over the ACV, and season with the three seasonings.
  6. Pour water to cover just about half of the meat.
  7.  Cook on low for 4-5 hours. Test it at around 4 hours to see how easily it will pull apart.
  8. Remove from crock pot onto a cutting board. Use two forks to pull it apart to desired-size pieces.
  9. Put back into crock pot and pour on the sauce. Stir to combine and let sit in the crock pot on warm until ready to serve.
Sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 small onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 2 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp worcestershire sauce
  • 3 or 4 drops of Texas Pete (more if you like that flavor)
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ground black pepper
While the meat is cooking, go ahead and make the sauce. I recommend making it right after you get the meat in the crock pot. This will allow time for the flavors to really meld together.
  1. Heat a small saucepan on low heat.
  2. Add coconut oil to melt.
  3. Add the onion and let cook for just a few minutes.
  4. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant.
  5. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir. Heat for just a few minutes, then place the lid on top and turn off the heat.
  6. Let sit until you’re ready to pour over the meat. Or put it into jar and set in the fridge until you need it if you won’t be using it that day.

Serve the finished product on dinner rolls or eat it plain. Serve with a green veggie and Sweet Potato Fries (which are on the menu again tonight!!!).

Do you like sweet sauces or vinegar-based ones for your BBQ??

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

4 responses »

  1. I made pulled chicken!!! It was crazy easy – although mine didn’t have sauce. I just made it plain so I could put it into various things throughout the week. I absolutely LOVE pulled pork! I always order it whenever I got to a BBQ restaurant!

    Reply
  2. If you’re not a fan of wheat, and therefore don’t care for dinner rolls, you could serve this on some corn tortillas with finely shredded red cabbage to make a pulled pork taco.

    Reply
    • Speaking of tacos, you could make the pulled pork on a Sunday and split it up into thirds:
      – 1/3 could be for Pulled Pork BBQ
      – 1/3 could be for a quick version of Tacos el Pastor (reheat the meat in a skillet with desired spices)
      – 1/3 could be for a Bolognese style pasta sauce.

      This idea came out of a Men’s Health issue a few months back.

      Reply
  3. I don’t eat BBQ anymore..but I do love the sauces! As for taste, I like the spicy sweet kind. It HAS to have a kick!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

