3 new recipes

Today did not start out so great. Titan woke me up at 2am to go out and I had a hard time falling back asleep. Then, he didn’t want to sleep this morning once my honey left, which meant I couldn’t sleep either. It was rainy and really dreary out and I was worried the rain wouldn’t end!

Alas, it did and this is what it looks like outside now:

Even though it started out a little rough, I have gotten a lot accomplished so far!

The main thing I have done is work on my recipe page. I actually went back through about 45 posts and have updated recipes (I still have a lot to go!). I have also been adding categories to each post which I didn’t do as I was posting them…word to the wise….don’t be like me!

I have also worked out, done my video for next Tuesday’s Tuesday Trainer, and baked two new recipes!! I’ve also gone for a run and walked the dog around the yard. I still have to make a dish for the Apple Butter Festival tomorrow and make dinner for tonight, plus clean up around the house and get a few other things done. I doubt I’ll get to it all today, but here’s hoping!

I am excited to have three new recipes to share today! A smoothie and then two pumpkin baked goods 🙂

Mango-Peach-Squash Green Smoothie (Makes about 6 cups)

I rarely make the same smoothie twice, but the addition of butternut squash puree was something I had to share because I’ve been doing it lately! I made a big batch so I could have it all weekend long. 

  • 2 cups yogurt
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 cup kale
  • 1 mango (I cut up and froze a few last week)
  • 1 peach (again, cut up and frozen)
  • 1 cup butternut squash puree

Blend all ingredients until smooth.

____________________________________________________________

Like I mentioned yesterday, I planned to make a new cookie recipe today. It turned out great, but it wasn’t exactly what I was expecting. Here’s why: I’ve never used pumpkin puree before. (I know…oh the horror, right? Nah, I couldn’t care less!)

Anyway. I am making cookies for the RA class I teach on Monday and I wanted to do something different. For one thing, they wanted chocolate chip and sugar cookies, so I obliged and bought Pilsbury all purpose flour and regular white sugar for them. But I wanted to have something I could eat. I saw the can of pumpkin as soon as I walked in the store and got this idea in my head to make a pumpkin cookie. With pecans. Thus, my Pecan Pumpkin Cookie was born.

By the way, for this recipe you have to pronounce it pee-can, not peh-cahn.

Pecan Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies (Makes 3 dozen)

  • 1/2 stick butter, softened
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp ground up flax seed + 2 1/2 tbsp warm water)
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin
  • 2 tsp cinnamon spice blend/pumpkin pie spice blend
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 cup GF flour
  • 1 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 3/4 cup chopped pecans

1. First make your flax egg and set aside.

2. With a hand mixer, beat the butter until fluffy.

3. Add the flax egg, maple syrup, vanilla and pumpkin. Mix well.

4. Combine dry ingredients in a small bowl.

5. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients a little at a time. Mix well before adding the next batch.

6. Fold in the chopped pecans.

7. Spoon mixture onto baking sheet and bake at 350 for about 10 minutes.

It is best to undercook these a little as my first batch was a little dry. I thought the pee-can flavor would come out more, but it really didn’t. I might roast them first if I make these cookies again. The pumpkin flavor is definitely there, which is something I’ll have to get used to. I really haven’t eaten a lot of pumpkin foods in my day.

_________________________________________________________________

I had a few bananas lying around the kitchen, so I decided I needed another banana muffin. I had already opened the can of pumpkin, so I figured why not?

Pumpkin Banana Muffins (Makes 12 muffins)
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1 flax egg
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cup GF flour
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans

1. First make your flax egg and set aside.

2. Next, mash up the bananas with the pumpkin in a large bowl.

3. Then add in the flax egg, maple syrup, and melted butter.

3. Combine the dry ingredients in a small bowl.

4. Mix together the wet and dry ingredients until just combined.

5. Fold in the chopped pecans gently.

6. Divide evenly into 12 muffin cups.

7. Bake at 350 until the tops are slightly brown.

I think I like the muffins better than the cookies because of the banana. It adds a different type of sweetness and an extra punch of flavor.

_______________________________________

Off to clean the floor and finally shower! And then make dinner 🙂

What is your favorite pumpkin recipe? Or are you like me and have never really used it?


About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

8 responses »

  1. The banana cookies look like muffins sorta. They look super soft and fluffy too!
    Nice work!

    Reply
  2. Sounds like a SUPER productive day!! Can’t wait to see your TT move!

    Reply
  3. Oh wait..just saw, it’s already uploaded!! WOW! You’re awesome!

    Reply
  4. The weather here was a little poor today and I got so much cooking and viola practice done – it has been a very good day off work! Awesome looking recipes, thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  5. We pretty much made the same muffin’ish didn’t we?! Great minds think alike! …..Enjoy your view, it is breathtaking and I hope you have one wonderful weekend, Kristin!

    Reply
  6. I made some amazing pumpkin chocolate chip bread for my brother and sister in law yesterday! So good. Personally, I’ve started to just take a big glob of pumpkin, mix in a bit of almond milk and cinnamon and call it a day. It’s sooooo good! Yes, I’m going crazy for pumpkin…

    Reply
  7. What a beautiful part of the world you live in. I’m going to try that breakfast drink. Mangoes and peaches are in season here at the moment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

