Two Recipe Tuesday Trainer

It’s been nice taking one thing off of my plate for the past week by not blogging, but I sure do miss the interaction with all of you wonderful friends! It’s good to be back!

Last week, my honey bought me a cookbook at his school’s bookfair, and I was inspired by it to make one of today’s recipes. The other recipe is really not much of a recipe, but rather just some good ingredients thrown together on a whim.

Shepherd’s Pie (Makes 6 servings)

This delicious all-in-one meal can be made ahead of time, or prepped in steps like I did. It can also be customized to include whatever veggies you have on hand.

  • 2 tbsp butter or oil
  • 1/4 small onion, diced
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/4 cup beef broth
  • 2 tbsp ketchup
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • a few drops of Texas Pete
  • a pinch of garlic salt
  • black pepper
  • 1 lb white potatoes
  • butter, salt and milk, as much as desired
  • 1/2 lb green beans, cut in half
  • 1 large carrot, diced
  • cheddar cheese

1. Heat a medium skillet and melt butter or oil.

2. Add the onions and saute until translucent.

3. Add the ground beef and cook until no longer pink. Drain any excess fat and return to pan.

4. Add the broth, ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, Texas Pete, garlic salt and pepper. Stir to combine. Let cook until it thickens up a bit.

5. Make mashed potatoes using the white potatoes, butter, salt and milk. Add any additional spices you’d like to jazz it up a bit!

6. Steam the green beans and diced carrots until just barely tender (they will cook more in the oven, so you don’t want them to get too cooked). You could also use broccoli, corn, peas or other veggies you have on hand.

7. Preheat the oven to 400*.

8. Layer the ingredients in a baking pan starting with the ground beef. Add the veggies on top, followed by the mashed potatoes.

9. Sprinkle generously with cheese and bake until the cheese is melty and bubbly!

I made this recipe in parts over a few days. One night I chopped the veggies and put them in the fridge. Another night I made the ground beef (I made a double batch and used the other half of it in chili). The night I actually baked the casserole, I made the mashed potatoes. This was super tasty and very filling. The leftovers were perfect to pack in lunches!

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

I had my first ever garden this year (I plan to share about my bounty later this week!), and although it didn’t go as well as I hoped, I still ended up being able to eat a lot of veggies from my own front yard. The one veggie I learned I can’t screw up is the bell pepper. We planted a few red pepper plants, but only one pepper made it to the red stage. The rest of them were used when they were still green. We also had jalapenos that grew abundantly.

To be completely honest, I don’t like peppers! Why did we plant peppers then? Well, we were just given a bunch of seedlings for lots of different veggies in May and I didn’t ask many questions. Fortunately, my honey loves pretty much anything, so he was happy to eat the peppers.

When I was running low on creative dinner ideas last week, I whipped this up and to my surprise, he absolutely LOVED it!

Chicken with garden peppers (Makes 1 serving)

  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 green bell peppers, cut into thin strips
  • 1 jalapeno, cut into thin strips
  • 1/4 onion sliced into thin strips
  • 2 boneless chicken thighs
  • 1 cup brown rice, cooked

1. Heat a skillet and melt the butter and oil.

2. Add the peppers and onions and saute until semi-soft.

3. In the same pan, sear the chicken thighs on each side. Then leave in the pan until no longer pink in the middle. (I covered my skillet with the lid and turned off the heat.)

4. Serve over the brown rice.

Seriously, my honey loved this super quick and easy meal! I have made it three times now and he still isn’t sick of it. I just picked about 6 more green bell peppers, so he should expect it a few more times before next week 🙂

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Once again, it is Tuesday, so pop on over to Lindsay’s place to check out this week’s Tuesday Trainer- Yoga edition!

I’m super pumped about this week because I love doing Yoga. I don’t formally practice it, but I enjoy doing the poses each morning to stretch, and lots of times before bed to relax me and get ready for sleep. I submitted a few videos, so check them out!

Please note that my videos were shot in our bedroom (which I had to pick up before shooting because I didn’t want you all to know think that I was a slob :)). The reason I had to do it in our bedroom was because of this:

That’s right. My puppy got out of his house (we think my honey’s grandma forgot to lock it when she so kindly came over and let him out on Monday!) and destroyed our basement. He chewed through two rolls of paper towels, tore up some magazines, ate almost an entire bag of treats (luckily they were super healthy! Unfortunately, they were super expensive!), tore apart two of my resistance bands, AND chewed off the handles of my only jump rope!!!!

My honey sent me this picture from his phone with the message “crap.” Needless to say, I couldn’t do my workout in my workout space, so I headed up to our bedroom.

I hope you enjoy the Yoga workout this week!!

lindsayslist.co-tuesday_trainer

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

8 responses »

  1. I couldn’t help but laugh at the puppy mess! 😉 oh well, right! It’s just stuff!

    Reply
  2. I add hot sauce to my shepherds pie too! It adds something special. 🙂 Lately I’ve been diggin the Melinda’s Hot Sauce, being my namesake and all… it makes me feel like a celebrity. 🙂

    Titan looks like he evoked a hurricane to help him with that basement…

    Reply
  3. Oh no!!! Haha. Clearly your puppy had a lot of energy! My brother’s puppy likes to tear up her puppy pads…

    Reply
  4. yay! you are back! Ive missed reading your updates! That sheperd’s pie looks darn good! Think I will give it a try this week! 🙂

    Reply
  5. I’m so glad you’re back! That Shepard’s Pie sounds yummy. That’s such a great dinner during these cold months! Thanks!

    Reply
  6. YUm, yum, yum. 🙂 These soudn like great family friendly recipes! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! 🙂 Yay! nad great video at Lindsay’s blog! 🙂

    Reply
  7. I loved your videos! I also try to do some yoga every morning and it’s amazing how good you feel afterwards for the rest of the day. Totally sucks about the puppy destruction. But how can you get angry at that face?

    Reply
  8. i hear on taking break from blogging, sometimes a little one is all you need!

    haha and too funny about the pup, crazy what they can destroy 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

