Workout Wednesday- Smartphone edition

As I mentioned on Monday, my honey and I got Smartphones over the weekend. I got the EVO 4G to be exact. I’m pretty much obsessed already and have loaded a ton of free apps (I’m too cheap to pay for any at this point!!).

I knew I wanted some good workout apps, so I quickly found the Daily Workout series (abs, cardio, butt, legs and arms) and downloaded all of them!

This is a screen shot of their website: dailyworkoutapps.com. I just saw the yoga workout, but it is only available on Apple products. Hopefully it will be coming to the Android Market soon though!!

Each of the free workout apps offers a 5 minute, a 7.5 minute or a 10 minute option for one set of exercises (the paid apps have more options, but I don’t have the paid version so I can’t tell you what they have!). I have tried out the 5 minute workouts for all of them except the cardio and they were tough. You do each move for 30 seconds with no rest in between, but you have the option to pause the workout at any time.

I liked them because there is a person on the screen demonstrating the moves, so you can easily follow along if you are unsure how to do them. Also, it challenged me to keep up with her when I might have quit otherwise.

The other great thing is that they are simple exercises, with a few new ones thrown in to change up what I already do. So far, the arm, abs, butt and leg workouts have been done in my hallway, which is perfect for me, and shows that you don’t need a lot of space or equipment to do them.

The greatest thing is that I don’t have to have my computer upstairs or be in front of a TV to do the workouts. I simply just have my phone where I can see it and I can basically workout anywhere!

If you have a Smartphone, I highly recommend checking these apps out. I plan to look into some other ones as well and will share if I find some other great ones.

Do you know of any great workout apps??

__________________________________________________________________

A few weeks ago I mentioned that I was going to run a 10K in November. I’ve thought about it a little more and to save a little extra money, I’m not going to be running it. (Plus, I have an event that day for my direct selling business, so I figure I should be trying to make money, not spend it!!)

So, in an effort to see if I can beat my time from last year, I have decided that I will run the race all by myself. That’s right. I know the course and it is fairly close to my house, so one day I am just going to head over there and time myself running it. I’m hoping my honey and Titan can come to cheer me on. They can play on the school’s football field and track where the course starts. I’ll keep you posted on my progress and when I actually do the “race.”

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

4 responses »

  1. This looks like a cool app; I’ll have to download it!

    Reply
  2. Those apps look really great. Good for you for still running the 10k! I was going to try to run a half but Im not prepared and its $100.00. so I opted for the 5k in November.

    Reply
  3. What is your direct selling business?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

