Snow in October?

I’m sitting here sipping on a hot cup of yummy tea, comforted by its warmth since the temperature took a nosedive today. I’m currently contemplating what I am going to do tomorrow….if it SNOWS!!!!

I have a ladies brunch at church in the morning, then a meeting an hour away in the afternoon, then I’m supposed to go see my parents.

However, they (and by ‘they’ I mean the incredibly accurate and always correct people over at weather.com) are calling for 2-4 inches of snow here in the next 24 hours. It’s not even November yet! And I just checked the weather again, they updated tonight’s weather from no accumulation to 1-3 inches of snow. WTF?

Anyways, I’ve got a back up plan in place for tomorrow because our roads will not get cleared in time for me to make it to my things tomorrow. (Yes, I realize that 2-4 inches is nothing in comparison, trust me, I know because I’m from Wisconsin where I once had a two hour delay to school when it snowed 18 inches over night! BUT, here in our tiny mountain and valley town, even the slightest accumulation is dangerous.)

You want to know the back up plan? Do everything tomorrow that I don’t want to do tonight! Like sweeping the floor, doing the dishes, making granola and granola bars, doing laundry, editing pictures, and cleaning the bathroom.

Oh, and play with my puppy πŸ™‚

That’s right, folks. That’s my puppy, who is only 8 months old and we’re pretty sure he weighs over 100 pounds! And he needs 100 times more attention than a regular puppy…I didn’t realize how needy dogs can be!!! We love him though πŸ™‚

Anyways, I’m sort of hoping it snows like crazy because I really need to get stuff done!

What I love about the cold weather coming in is that we get to turn on our wood stove (best smell in the world!!!), put on the flannel sheets…and cuddle real close πŸ˜‰

I hope you’ve got someone to cuddle close with tonight. I’ve got a someone and a somedog πŸ™‚

Off to keep warm!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

12 responses »

  1. So freakin jealous of your woodfire!! I didn’t cover the woodpile outside so no fire in the fire place tonight… annnnnnnd Jon has to fix our oil tank’s gauge tomorrow so no furnace. 😦 It’s crazy how much life literally shuts down over the THOUGHT of snow in VA! But it does make it festive even for adults. Did you guys get hail/sleet/ice this afternoon?

    Reply
    • Hey! Too bad about the firewood! I hope you are able to build one tonight.

      We actually don’t have a fireplace in the house; we have a woodstove outside that heats our house and hot water. It’s so much fun because we get to chop wood together during the winter πŸ™‚ And the heat is different…more cozy somehow!

      Reply
  2. We are currently getting HEAVY snow here in PA… we’re supposed to get 6-10 inches; so crazy!

    Your puppy is too cute!

    Reply
  3. oh fun!! excited to see pictures if it did snow! It’s just flippin’ cold down here in NC.

    Reply
  4. You forgot to mention that one school year where the only winter-weather day off we got was due to a wind chill of -80 degrees.

    Reply
  5. Can’t believe my grandpuppy is so BIG!!!! He’s like a big teddy bear…..

    Reply
  6. Haven’t checked-in in about a month and can’t believe how much bigger Titan is! GEEZ! What a big boy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

