Homemade Hot Chocolate for Halloween

I’m not much of a Halloween person, but my honey enjoys it and gets to dress up at school every year. He was Waldo last year, and this year, he was the Scarecrow.

Cute, right?!

Even though we live out in the sticks, we still get some trick-or-treaters. So far we’ve had a werewolf, a vampire, a ballerina, a wizard, skeletons, a cheerleader, a half angel-half devil, cats, a cowgirl and a lion! I think we’re done though.

To celebrate the evening, I decided to take a new twist on a favorite recipe of mine.

One of my favorite things in the world is a steaming cup of hot chocolate. I used to love the Swiss Miss packets and would usually use two packets per cup to make it more flavorful and sweeter. Now I can’t stand the thought of drinking that stuff. One, it isn’t gluten-free, and two, the artificial sugars are off the charts in it.

Last year, I found a website called Health Castleย and got an e-mail with a recipe for homemade hot chocolate. I tweaked it a bit and made it again last night. I remembered how much I absolutely love it, so I whipped up a batch for my honey and I on this chilly Halloween night. I added a little extra Kahlua tonight though ๐Ÿ˜‰

Homemade Hot Chocolate

  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp natural, unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1-2 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • pinch of salt (optional)
  • 1 tbsp Kahlua (optional)

Combine the 1 tbsp milk and cocoa powder in a small saucepan. Don’t be alarmed if at first it doesn’t want to mix. The powder doesn’t want to play nice with the milk at first, but just keep stirring. Add the cup of milk and stir until combined. Turn the heat on low and let it warm up gradually; be careful not to scald it. While it is heating up, add the maple syrup (2 tbsp if you want it sweeter) and the vanilla. Stir again. Add a pinch of salt, just to bring out the sweetness, if you’d like. If you like Kahlua, and especially if you have homemade Kahlua like me (!), add just a little bit of it (or more if you want!). Serve in your favorite mug with whipped cream if you’ve got it!

This turned out to be the best cup of hot chocolate that I’ve ever had! The Kahlua added just the right touch, and the maple syrup adds sweetness without being overly sweet.

Break the habit of using the packets and try to make it at home yourself and I promise you won’t regret it!

I hope you’ve had an enjoyable Halloween night!!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

14 responses »

  1. 2 Things.
    1) I want you homemade Kahlua recipe… so bad!
    2) We live in a super safe, walking friendly neighborhood, where we know tons of our neighbors…. and we got less trick or treaters than you…. Halloween Fail here!

    Reply
  2. Ooo sounds delicious!! I used to have those Swiss miss packets all the time in college

    Reply
  3. Pretty sure the optional makes it that much more delicious! …His scarecrow outfit is super cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  4. I was definitely a two (sometimes THREE) packet girl…that sounds horrible now – don’t know what my mom was thinking!

    Reply
  5. Where’s your picture dressing up as Dorothy?

    Reply
  6. Wonder if he had crows following him around all day????????????? Titan is a little BIG to play toto…. Cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

