Saturday morning run

I had a great run this morning! Even though it was hovering around the freezing mark, I bundled up and headed out.

There was a dense frost on the ground, but with the sun shining on it, it looked so beautiful! I don’t think these photos really capture it, but you get the idea.

I set out to do 4.5 miles and I didn’t care how I completed them. Usually I like to challenge myself to finish without stopping at all, but because it was so cold, I had to take a few short breaks.

I chose to run a flatter course than I normally do because it is hunting season. I typically run a nice hilly area on the edge of our property, but since we have people who hunt on the land, I decided to stay away. I ended up with an average pace of 9:19 a mile which is awesome for me, especially at that distance.

The run reminded me how much I miss running. I miss the solitude of a nice, long run, especially around here where I really don’t see anyone when I’m out running. It was nice to disconnect from technology for a bit (I might be attached to my phone just a bit…) and to just have time to think about stuff. I don’t really remember what I thought about, but I always do some good thinking when I run.

I really felt strong for most of the run, and I attribute part of it to my pre-run snack, which was also my breakfast. A square of my homemade granola bar, half an apple, and a glass of raw milk. It had enough simple and complex carbs, plus lots of good fats and protein to get me through it. My post-run snack/second breakfast was butternut squash pancakes. I seriously had these every day last week for breakfast. They are soooooo yummy! Again, they were loaded with good carbs, fats and protein to fill me up and repair my muscles.

After my run, I got a few things done around the house and then made a little money with my side job. It was a fun afternoon!

Now I’m about to eat dinner and take care my sick honey…he’s not really sick yet, but I need to make sure he doesn’t get all the way there. He is NOT FUN to be around when he doesn’t feel well. Maybe one day I’ll tell you all about the time I had to take him to the hospital shortly after we met….looking back I can laugh at how horrible he was, but in the moment, it was tough!

I’ve pumped him full of hot tea, veggies, water and supplements, so we’ll see how he feels in the morning. I really am looking forward to our hike tomorrow so I want him to feel better!!

What did you do today?

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

6 responses »

  1. Beautiful pics!

    I attended my first blogger meet-up this morning, & have been relaxing & doing school work for the rest of the day/night! 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

    Reply
  2. Way to go- I’m with you, when I set out, I don’t care how I finish them as long as I finish them. Good work! 🙂
    Take care of the honey!
    I cleaned my house all day- it had bee awhile since I have been home. It felt so good!

    Reply
  3. Haha I would avoid the hilly area too! I love long runs, I used to hate them because I felt like I was suffering through every step, but the further and further I get used to running, the more of a runner’s high I get and it’s no longer a mental challenge!

    Reply
  4. Nice job on your run! What a beautiful day out. Hope you honey keeps feeling better!

    Reply
  5. Kisses and hugs are good medicine too! 😉 Hope your man starts feeling better!

    Reply
  6. It is sooooooooooo pretty there!
    Hope honey feels better!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

