Rest Day

I did it! I actually set out a workout plan and I followed through with it. I even added an additional workout 🙂

So today, I am taking a well-deserved rest day! It started out with some good yoga stretches this morning, followed by a nice hot shower. Unfortunately, I had to do a bit of walking today around campus, so I didn’t get to properly rest my legs like I wanted to. I plan to do some more stretching this evening because my legs are starting to cramp up a bit and I can tell that tomorrow is going to be rough!

Speaking of rest days….have you checked out Tuesday Trainer yet today? It was another rest day over there, so you can find out more about your favorite trainers (like me!) by heading over there.

lindsayslist.co-tuesday_trainer My trainer and I did the 99 workout last night and it.was.awesome! She’s super encouraging and at the same physical level as me, so it was easy for us to keep up with each other throughout it. To give you a reminder of what all is involved in the workout, here is the breakdown:

  • jumping jacks
  • crunches
  • wall sit
  • leg lifts
  • push ups
You do 99 of each move (99 seconds for the wall sit) and then 9 push ups. Then, you do 88 and 8, and on down to 22 and 2. Then you finish it all up with an 11 minute run.

Because it can get tough to do 99 of the same crunch, we switched things up a bunch by doing bicycles, reverse crunches, toe touch crunches, Russian twists, and a few others. We did the same thing with leg lifts and did some side-lying leg lifts, alternating leg lifts, flutter kicks, standing kickbacks plus a few more. It was great because she had a ton of ideas for moves that I hadn’t thought of!

Overall, it wasn’t that tough. It’s a little mentally challenging at the beginning when you think about what you are about to do, but I promise it is easier than it sounds if you’ve been working out for a little bit. Also, it goes by pretty quickly, especially when doing it with someone else. Last time it took me about an hour and 15 minutes without doing the run. This time, it took about an hour and 5 minutes with the run.

I was surprised by how much the wall sits burned. I really worked my quads on Sunday during our hike, so they were super sore. I was also surprised by how strong I felt when we did the run. I ran faster than I have in awhile. We had to run around the indoor track at the gym, which I never do. Maybe it was a combo of that and the fact that I wanted to pass the other people on the track, but for some reason I was super motivated to run as fast as I could. It was amazing!

The only downside to the crazy amount of exercise I have squeezed into the last five days is that I am crazy hungry! And thirsty. I always drink lots of water, but for some reason, I can’t get enough today!

Off to do some more stretching! And to get to know all of the other fine ladies over at Tuesday Trainer!

About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

4 responses »

  1. Definitely giving this workout a try!! Never heard of it before!

    Reply
  2. That 99 workout really sounds intense! I might give it a try one day when I have the time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

