My favorite throw-together meal

When I am short on time in the evenings, this is my favorite recipe for a complete meal. You can make some of the ingredients ahead of time, or you can make everything all at once.

Rice, chicken and veggies (Makes 4 servings)

A warm, filling and comforting meal for the cold weather.

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 2 cups liquid, I used chicken stock and water
  • 1 1/2 cups brown rice
  • 2 cups diced, cooked chicken
  • veggies of choice, but I recommend broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil (optional)
  • salt and pepper
  • prepared sauce of your choice, I used a thai peanut sauce

1. Melt the butter in a large saucepan.

2. Add the diced onion and the rice. Stir to coat with butter and let ‘fry’ for a minute, stirring constantly.

3. Add the liquid and cover with a lid. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 30-45 minutes or until rice is done.

4. Once rice is finished cooking, steam your veggies.

5. In a small saute pan, melt a little coconut oil.

6. Add the rice and saute for a few minutes, then add the veggies and chicken. Season with salt and pepper as desired.

7. Drizzle with desired amount of sauce and stir to coat. Cook until everything is warmed through.

8. Serve to your hungry honey 🙂

Last night, I cooked some extra chicken so I would have it ready for tonight. If I had been thinking (and not cooking a totally different meal!) I would have made the rice last night too. You could also make a big batch of rice on the weekend to save you lots of time with this recipe. This recipe could be done so many different ways with lots of different sauce/seasoning variations. I actually like garlic salt and freshly grated Parmesan cheese on mine. Find what works for you and enjoy!
Off to snuggle on the couch with my honey and a warm mug of hot chocolate with kahlua 🙂
About eat healthy. be happy. live well.

A 20-something farmer's wife who has finally learned to eat healthy, be happy and live well!

3 responses »

  1. Super supper! I should do this for the husband, I bet he’d be game- he ate fish for the first time since we’ve been married- I took it slow. This would be a welcome change for him…….The hot chocolate part is awesome!

    Reply
  2. Yum, I love this meal too! I love throwing everything together and when it taste so delicious its a win/win! 🙂
    Yum on your snuggling drink! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

